Sunday 30 April 2017

Mark Puddicombe Takes Dorset Sandisons Classic!

Mark Puddicombe (CYCLESERVICE SIDMOUTH)) won the Sandisons Classic race in Dorset, pulling clear on the final climb, high above Lulworth Cove to take a clever, first win . Puddicombe did not contribute to the chase of early aggressor Stu Bowers (Scott Racing), staying in the wheels as Kim Little (Merida Factory Racing) used up precious energy chasing.

Bowers had pushed on after taking the first prime atop the tough climb in the Purbeck hills. Little was alert to the danger but could not make contact with the experienced Bowers and would regret his pursuit. The gap was never more than 40 seconds but Bowers was committed, Little,James Horton (VC ST Raphael), and Southampton University RC pair, Harry Chamberlain & Tom Ellis briefly escaped the thinning bunch on the climb but the descent came to soon to deter the chase from behind. Bowers tried hard but needed company and was back with the 18 riders that led the race across the line with two laps remaining in the 46 mile race.
Chamberlain led at the bell, always strong on the hill the Uni man pulled out a small gap but it was quickly snuffed out. Still absent from the front, Puddicombe did well to keep out of trouble as the first significant rain in weeks left the corners slick, some skin was lost but nothing more. The 42 year old chartered surveyor from Sidmouth made his move as the race turned left onto the climb from the village of Coombe Keynes, avoiding another "chute", Puddicombe left it in the "big dog" for the first time and powered away, his fresh legs never challenged. James Horton is a fighter and worked hard for second place, the all-rounder chasing the overall in the Dorset League after coming second for the last two years. Tom Ellis, 20 years younger than the winner but riding strong took third place.
Enthusiastic race organiser, Tom Clements took the decision to move the race to the Lulworth circuit, a course that requires less accredited marshalls than the originally planned Pimperne course.
Photos on our FACEBOOK page

1. Mark Puddicombe Cycleservice Sidmouth
2. James Horton VC St Raphael
3. Thomas Ellis Southampton University Road Club
4. John Samways Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers
5. Simon Merritt UK-Biking/Bmth Cycleworks/Trek
6. Adam Faux Cycleservice Sidmouth
7. Darren Orchard Mud, Sweat n Gears CC
8. David Jarrom Cardiff Ajax CC
9. Craig Haslam Tri UK
10. Kim Little Merida Factory Racing
11. Philip Hopley Radeon-Bike Science RT
12. Shawn Gray Gillingham and District Wheelers
13. Graham Biles Mud, Sweat n Gears CC
14. Stuart Bowers SCOTT Racing
15. Samuel Wadsley Poole Wheelers CC
16. Jonathan Gall Clevedon & District RC
17. Harry Chamberlain Southampton University RC
18. Adrian Murray Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers
19. Tom Stocker Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers
20. Roland Tilley Weber Creative Interiors
21. George Creasey UK-Biking/Bmth Cycleworks/Trek
22. Kevin Egan Poole Wheelers CC
23. Andy Smith VC St Raphael
24. Ian Hayden Wightlink,Wight Mountain CRT.
25. Michael Rogers Plymouth Corinthian CC
26. Craig Lawson Exeter Wheelers
27. Dave Dalton Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club
27. Vincent Harding Poole Wheelers CC
29. Mark Valentine Poole Wheelers CC
30. Rupert Silman Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers
31. Samuel Brooke Poole Wheelers CC
32. Robert Merrison Cotswold Veldrijden
33. Ben Smith Velo Club Venta
34. Tom Scott

No comments:

Post a Comment