Friday 7 July 2017

British Cycling Confirms Team for BMX Europeans Champs


British Cycling has today announced the 14 riders who will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team at the 2017 UEC BMX European Championships taking place in Bordeaux, France, from 14 - 16 July 2017.

Olympian Kyle Evans, who won the 2017 UEC BMX European Cup series overall, will compete at the European Championships as will Olympic podium programme rider Tre Whyte. Junior rider Beth Shriever, who has enjoyed a successful season so far having won five rounds of the European series and making a final in the elite women’s category of the UCI BMX World Cup, will represent Great Britain in the junior women’s category. Blaine Ridge-Davis, Euan Hunt, Tian Isidore and Kye Whyte complete the line-up of riders in the junior categories, whilst seven young British riders will race within the under-16 categories for boy and girls.

Lead BMX coach Grant White said: “We’re taking a big team to the UEC BMX European Championships this year and, having seen some solid and consistent performances from the riders this season both nationally and internationally, we’ll be looking for some good performances from the riders at this event across the board.

“The European championships fall a fortnight before the world championships and as such they form a key part of the preparation phase for the riders selected to ride both. Kyle, Tre, Kye, Beth and Blaine will be looking to take advantage of this race opportunity and we’re expecting the competition to be tough as other nations will be planning the same.

“The organisers are installing a temporary track for the event so we’re looking forward to getting out there and getting a feel for the track during the training sessions before racing starts on the 15th July.”

Great Britain Cycling Team for UEC BMX European Championships, Bordeaux:

Elite Men
Kyle Evans
Tre Whyte

Junior Men
Euan Hunt
Tian Isidore
Kye Whyte

Junior Women
Blaine Ridge-Davis
Beth Shriever

Under - 16 Men
Tyrell Cooper-Nelson
Ross Cullen
Nathan Wood

Under – 16 Women
Elissa Bradford
Maddie Owen-Matthews
Libby Smith
Eleana Stafford

No comments:

Post a Comment