Thursday 17 August 2017

...a3crg 10,16/08/17, Report/Results

The Finale Ten" P883 Buriton Dave Collard-Berry reports....

Only two events were planned for the under used P883 which was twice as many as last season but the first one was washed out so it was down to the following week to have the one & only run out on the Buriton course at Petersfield. The evening didn't look that promising and the wind was rising but this was the finale of ...a3crg Summer TT Series. With the previous two weeks cancelled due to rain the a3crg events crew were hoping to wrap up on a high and not let the dull evening cloud there enthusiasm.

James Rix of Crawley Wheelers served up the goods to finish the series on a high by smashing Steve Walkling's record set in 2004 by almost a minute. Rix's time of 18:38 confirmed the organiser's believe that the 883 could be the fastest of the A3 courses. Gary Chambers recovering from his spill on Sunday still managed a sub-19 ride but sixteen seconds down to fill second place. Third place went to 55 year old Kevin Tye with a 19:05 and the consolation of tasking the vet's prize as well.

As for the South DC riders Tom Pritchard (Hants RC) & Charlie Mitchell (...a3crg) both tied on 5th place with 19:32 with Andy Langdown a further eight seconds back. However Langdown led his Blazing Saddles team to pick up the first place team award.

Laura Bartlett (...a3crg) the 2016 South DC BAR winner and on route to lift it again this year took the women's first place prize with a 21:43, leaving her coaches (Julie Shaw) record still to be beaten. Team mate Angela Carpenter a further 37 seconds back. Katie Crow (Dulwich Paragon) took third place and 15 year old Caitlin Peters (i-team Cyclists Club) tied with Sarah Matthews (...a3crg) to take fourth place.

The evening concluded a successful summer series for ...a3crg who this year decided to run their normal "club events" as "open events" this year. Basically the same format and in most cases for the same entry fee (£5.00), well there wasn't any additional costs. Did it work? Well they think so, as the events were all oversubscribed and the quality of the rides were superb with all the times counting. The question left now to answer is why aren't other clubs doing the same?

1. James Rix Crawley Wheelers 00:18:38
2. Gary Chambers NOPINZ 00:18:54
3. Kevin Tye VeloRefined Aerosmiths 00:19:05
4. Jamie Pine Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT 00:19:15
5. Tom Pritchard Hampshire Road Club 00:19:32
5. Charles Mitchell …a3crg 00:19:32
7. Andrew Langdown Blazing Saddles 00:19:40
8. Matthew Charlton Farnborough & Camberley CC 00:19:41
9. Matt Peel Redhill CC 00:19:42
10. Russ Danckert Army Cycling Union 00:19:43
11. Andrew Meilak VeloRefined Aerosmiths 00:19:47
12. Keith Lea Paceline RT 00:19:52
13. Rob Stephenson Southborough & District Wheelers 00:20:00
14. Howard Bayley Blazing Saddles 00:20:01
15. Angus MacInnes RAF CC 00:20:05
15. Jeremy Ponting Velo Club St Raphael 00:20:05
17. Jon Hughes VC Godalming & Haslemere 00:20:13
18. David Wells Petersfield Tri Club 00:20:16
19. David Dalton Fareham Wheelers CC 00:20:22
20. Matthew Parfit Charlotteville CC 00:20:24
21. James Fawcett Hampshire Road Club 00:20:29
22. Steve Legg …a3crg 00:20:36
23. Darran Clare Blazing Saddles 00:20:47
24. Andrew Thomas …a3crg 00:20:54
25. Peter Weir AeroCoach 00:20:59
26. David Shepherd GS Stella 00:21:02
27. James Fritchley Westbury Wheelers 00:21:04
28. Shaun Smart Southdown Velo 00:21:05
29. Mike Appleyard Lancashire Road Club 00:21:08
30. Drew Hosies …a3crg 00:21:12
30. Mike Williams Poole Wheelers 00:21:12
32. Sacha Ring New Forest CC 00:21:19
33. Nigel Sign Fareham Wheelers CC 00:21:25
34. Darryl Barr …a3crg 00:21:31
35. Thomas Goodyer Portsmouth North End CC 00:21:36
36. Stuart Martingale Sotonia CC 00:21:37
37. Laura Bartlett …a3crg 00:21:43
38. Jerry Bromyard …a3crg 00:21:50
38. Andrew Phipps Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 00:21:50
38. Matt Harris TeamSpy 00:21:50
41. Patrick Brennan …a3crg 00:21:51
42. Mike O’Gorman Worthing Excelsior CC 00:21:52
43. Mike Garner …a3crg 00:22:17
44. Angela Carpenter …a3crg 00:22:20
45. Katie Crowe Dulwich Paragon CC 00:22:30
46. Robert Charles Blazing Saddles 00:22:33
47. Sarah Matthews …a3crg 00:22:48
47. Caitlin Peters i-team Cyclists Club 00:22:48
49. Jenny Simmonds London Dynamo 00:22:56
50. Kirsty McSeveney Fareham Wheelers CC 00:23:17
51. Marianne Holt Fareham Wheelers CC 00:23:34
52. Zoe Taylor …a3crg 00:24:23
53. Robyn Yates Addiscombe CC 00:24:56
54. Rachael Lamont Hampshire Road Club 00:26:11

No comments:

Post a Comment