Sunday, 29 September 2013

Portland Hill Climb, Hatrick for McLaughlin

Justin Oakley Reports………..Thirty five riders faced the CC Weymouth timekeeper to tackle Portland Hill in round two of the local Interclub Hill Climb Competition. CC Weymouth were very well represented, a good ploy, as all finishers get points for these events, even if it is only one.

It was Simon McLaughlin of the Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers who triumphed for the third year running to win the race with a time of 5:54, just fourteen seconds from his own course record and twenty eight seconds ahead of Greg Parker from CC Weymouth. What can the other clubs do next year to secure that top spot?
The weather was cloudy with a nice tailwind pushing the riders up the long straight part of the climb but it was against them up to the finish line where not even a single rider could manage a smile worth noting, strange that!
Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers and Poole Wheelers have a lot of work to do in the next week in mustering up more support in the run up to the next round up Creech Hill, a short sharp climb through the woods and a course that demands a different approach entirely.

Simon McLaughLin BJW 04:54
Greg Parker CCW 05:22
John Chapman CCW 05:26
Ryan Weston Poole Wheelers 05:29
Steven Pink CCW 05:32
Reuban Moss CCW 05:35
Alex Jolliffe Poole Wheelers 05:36
Paddy Dunn CCW 05:49
Wayne Roberts Day Member 05:49
Rupert Silman BJW 05:50
David Avenell Day Member 05:55
Justin Loveland CATI 06:03
John O'Brien BJW 06:06
Dan Haskins MSG 06:08
Sam Wadsley Poole Wheelers 06:10
Ian Manley Day Member 06:13
Ian Roe CCW 06:14
Craig Weston Poole Wheelers 06:42
Sarah Mortimer Day Member 06:44
Eve Jeffries Poole Wheelers 06:58
Will Wilson CCW 07:00
Andrew Jackson CCW 07:10
John Terry Poole Wheelers 07:16
Charmaine Walby CCW 07:17
James Margary CCW 07:23
Brandon King CCW 07:28
Andrew Preston CCW 07:28
Philip Clive CCW 07:30
Luke Dighton Poole Wheelers 07:39
Stu Pearson MSG 07:58
Colin Deuchers CCW 07:58
Oliver Carrington CCW 08:20
Brian Sands CCW 08:28
Ed Wilson CCW 08:38
Gavin Relph CCW 08:51

Simon McLaughLin BJW 100
Ryan Weston Poole Wheelers 95
Greg Parker CCW 93
John Chapman CCW 93
Steven Pink CCW 88
Rupert Silman BJW 81
John O'Brien BJW 74
Sam Wadsley Poole Wheelers 69
Eve Jeffries Poole Wheelers 63
Craig Weston Poole Wheelers 58
Andrew Jackson CCW 54
Will Wilson CCW 51
Brandon King CCW 48
Reuban Moss CCW 45
Alex Jolliffe Poole Wheelers 44
Paddy Dunn CCW 43
Colin Deuchers CCW 41
Andrew Preston CCW 40
Ian Roe CCW 39
John Terry Poole Wheelers 34
Charmaine Walby CCW 33
James Margary CCW 32
Ed Wilson CCW 31
Philip Clive CCW 07:30 29
Luke Dighton Poole Wheelers 07:39 28
Oliver Carrington CCW 26
Brian Sands CCW 25
Gavin Relph CCW 23

No comments:

Post a Comment