Sunday 26 February 2017

Andover Wheelers "Hardriders 24" Hunt Sets the Standard!

Rich Hunt (Army Cycling Union) won the Andover Wheelers "Hardriders" 24, his time of 57:10 setting the standard for the new sporting course at Ludgershall on the Hampshire /Wiltshire border. Riding on a new bike with power cranks and racing for the first time in February, the 44 year old stormed around the classic hardriders circuit, "It gave me a real kick up the backside, when i looked down and saw it below 330-340 watts i knew i had to dig in a bit harder. It was a block headwind at the top of Wexcombe, you needed to save some juice for the top, anybody who overcooked it would have suffered like a dog for the last 5 kilometres." said the Army Time Trial secretary at the event HQ.
James Brickell (Fareham Wheelers) clocked 58:34, the 18 year old student the only other rider to dip under the hour on a course that had a little of everything, perfect for early season racing. " Really happy with that, i have had a big week training as its half term, It was tough, windy and hilly, seemed to be a headwind the whole way"
Richard Gildea (Didcot Phoenix) took third spot, 33 secs down on Brickell with 1:00:7.
In the Road Bike event Craig Wallington (Sarum Velo) took the win with an impressive time of 1:00:20 after finishing second the week before in the VC ST Raphael event. Matt buckley (Andover Wheelers), 1:01:44, claimed second place for the promoting club with James Peckham (Sotonia CC), 1:02:43, third.
Heavy overnight rain had left water on the twisting country lanes, the constant rise and fall, nagging south westerly breeze and chilly air providing testing conditions for all.

Time Trial Bikes
1 Rich Hunt Army Cycling Union Veteran 44 00:57:10
2 James Brickell Fareham Wheelers CC Espoir 18 00:58:34
3 Richard Gildea Didcot Phoenix CC Senior 31 01:00:07
4 Andy Smith Velo Club St Raphael Veteran 42 01:00:35
5 Brendan Reese Bournemouth Arrow CC Senior 39 01:00:59
6 Russ Danckert Army Cycling Union Senior 34 01:01:00
7 Simon Healey Andover Wheelers Veteran 44 01:01:39
8 Bryn Davies Oxford University CC Espoir 21 01:01:51
9 Simon Berogna Velo Club St Raphael Veteran 43 01:02:00
10 Max Webber Abbotts Ann Cycles Senior 24 01:02:11
11 Paul Morris Fareham Wheelers CC Senior 32 01:02:26
12 Andrew Rivett Velo Club St Raphael Veteran 45 01:02:46
13 Nigel Pratt Andover Wheelers Veteran 45 01:03:01
14 Neil Mackley Fareham Wheelers CC Veteran 53 01:03:02
15 Jonathan Robinson Army Cycling Union Veteran 46 01:03:11
16 Jake Prior Velo Club St Raphael Veteran 53 01:04:04
17 Bryce Riglar CC Weymouth Senior 23 01:04:10
18 Matt Kerin Oxford University CC Senior 23 01:04:16
19 Richard Porter CC Weymouth Veteran 44 01:04:19
20 Shaun Smart Southdown Velo Veteran 53 01:04:47
21 John Chapman CC Weymouth Veteran 55 01:04:57
22 Andrew Payne Maidenhead & District CC 01:05:29
23 Perry Lee Southdown Velo Veteran 53 01:05:49
24 Graham Giggs Bath Road Club Senior 38 01:06:15
25 Peter Hatt Velo Club St Raphael Veteran 50 01:06:26
26 Tim Jude Andover Wheelers Senior 37 01:06:32
27 David Churchill Bigfoot CC Veteran 57 01:07:00
28 Valentin Sulzer Oxford University CC Senior 23 01:07:22
29 Stuart Thompson Andover Wheelers Veteran 42 01:08:41
30 Sarah Matthews ...a3crg Women 56 01:10:04
31 Chris Cain Andover Wheelers Veteran 43 01:10:22
32 Mark Dinwiddy Southdown Velo Veteran 54 01:14:49
33 Nicholas Cooper Andover Wheelers Veteran 48 01:18:06

Road Bikes

1 Craig Wallington Sarum Velo 01:00:20
2 Matthew Buckley Andover Wheelers 01:01:44
3 James Peckham Sotonia CC 01:02:43
4 Thom Hayward Velo Club Venta 01:04:35
5 Nick Jones Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 01:06:38
6 Michael Cripps Army Cycling Union 01:06:44
7 Tom Bolton Cowley Road Condors CC 01:06:48
8 Glenn Longland Antelope Racing Team 01:07:49
9 Tamina Oliver (W) Oxford University CC 01:08:12
10 Andy Self North Hampshire RC 01:08:26
11 Angela Carpenter (W) i-Team Cyclists Club 01:08:30
12 Tom Bandy Portsdown Hill CC 01:08:31
13 John Glaysher ...a3crg 01:13:35
14 Mike Garner ...a3crg 01:14:31
15 Den Tapping ...a3crg 01:15:05

Team Position

1st Army Cycling Union Rich Hunt, Russ Danckert, Jonathan Robinson 03.01.21
2nd Fareham Wheelers CC James Brickell, Paul Morris, Neil Mackley 03.04.02
3rd Velo Club St Raphael Andy Smith, Simon Berogna, Andrew Rivett 03.05.21
4th Andover Wheelers Simon Healey, Nigel Pratt, Tim Jude 03.11.12
5th CC Weymouth Bryce Riglar, Richard Porter, John Chapman 03.13.26
6th Oxford University CC Bryn Davies, Matt Kerin, Valentin Sulzer 03.13.29
7th Southdown Velo Shaun Smart, Perry Lee, Mark Dinwiddy 03.25.25

*Rob Sherrin (..A3CRG) fell foul of the new CTT ruling that requires riders to sign back in after the race, Sherrin finished the race but failed to register his ride and was disqualified.

No comments:

Post a Comment