Thursday 9 May 2019

Horton Gets the Vote at Moreton!

In these days of Brexit uncertainty and unfollowable leaders we all need something dependable, a rock, a sure thing, something we can trust, the return of Moreton with its predictable pursuit, attacks that come to nothing and the inevitable bunch kick provides us that reliability, that reassurance , that constant. James Horton (VC St Raphael), always good value for money, got the vote at the opening round of the 2019 series, winning the expected gallop after the scratch group had chased and caught the phoney wars being fought up the road.
To be fair, Bob Ford (Bournemouth Cycleworks), Dan Murphy (CC Weymouth) & Steve Green (Thames Velo) made a good fist of staying away but of course, were reliably caught with 3 laps to go. Julian Lockwood (Primer-Teamjobs), 6th at Mountbatten the night before took second ahead of Darren Orchard (Mud Sweat Gears), a win is surely not far away for the prolific racer, Lockwood and the improving Orchard.
Steph Lewars (Poole Wh) won the womens race, getting the better of Rachel Hackman (RN&RMCA) in the final after the pair had done the bulk of work on the front. Lewars matched Hackmans acceleration before pulling away to celebrate.
1 James Horton VC St Raphael
2 Julian Lockwood Primera-Teamjobs
3 Darren Orchard Mud Sweat n'Gears
4 Phil Dickson Mud Sweat n' Gears
5 Zak Snell Bournemouth Cycleworks Vitec Fire Ford Civil
6 Simon Lock
7 Lyndon Thompson Colton Care
8 Jaimie Whitcher Bournemouth Cycleworks Vitec Fire Ford Civi
9 Luke Monahan Bournemouth Cycleworks Vitec Fire Ford Civi
10 Christian Shubert Knapton Bournemouth Cycleworks Vitec Fire Ford Civil
1 Steph Lewars Poole Wh
2 Rachel Hackman RN&RMCA
3 Penny Atkin Purbeck Peloton

No comments:

Post a Comment