Thursday 16 May 2019

Horton Again in Moreton Gallop!

James Horton (VC St Raphael) won an exciting bunch sprint to make it 2 out of 2 at the Bournemouth Cycleworks Moreton series in Dorset. Horton, who won round 1,just edged out Jason Gault (Primera Teamjobs) in a blanket finish after a fast pursuit around the quiet rural lanes. It was tight, well contested but Horton knew he had got it, always a good return for sponsor, Mick Waite. Young Zak Snell (Bournemouth Cyclworks Vitec Fire Ford Civil) made a bid for glory on the final turn but it was short lived as Julian Lockwood & Mathew Norris chased it down but they could not set it up for their Primera -teamjobs captain.
Pressure of work has kept Gault away from the start line this year and it was good to see the big man back, the smile on his face despite losing out to Horton was proof if any were needed, of the therapeutic worth of the bike.
Maddy Verdegaal won the women’s race riding away at the bell to win alone, leaving Rachel Hackman (RM&RNCA) & Niamh Mandeville (Poole Wheelers) scrap for the minor placings. Verdegaal, 22, has been off the bike for two years, "university and New Zealand" but has lost none of her early promise.

1 James Horton VC St Raphael/Waites Contracts
2 Jason Gault Primera-TeamJobs B
3 Phillip Cole Bournemouth Cycleworks VitecFire FordCivil A
4 Julian Lockwood Primera-TeamJobs C
5 Jamie Whitcher Bournemouth Cycleworks VitecFire FordCivil YA
6 Oscar Hutchings Team Tor 2000 S
7 Darren Orchard Mud Sweat n Gears CC A
8 Dan Murphy CC Weymouth B
9 Roland Tilley Bournemouth Cycleworks VitecFire FordCivil D
10 Stephen Morphew Poole Wheelers CC M
11 Luke Monahan M
12 Nicolas Pyman Purbeck Peloton CC M
13 Zak Snell Bournemouth Cycleworks VitecFire FordCivil S
14 Lyndon Thompson Colton Care
15 Gregg Meade M
16 Matt Todd S
17 Graham Biles A
18 Simon Lock M
19 Bob Ford Bournemouth Cycleworks VitecFire FordCivil F
20 Matthew Norris Primera-TeamJobs A
21 David Gilham Bournemouth Arrow CC D
22 Richard Lang Bournemouth Cycleworks VitecFire FordCivil A
23 Stuart Peckham New Forest Cycling Club B
24 Rob Midmore Mud Sweat n Gears CC M
25 Matt Papa S
26 Mark Kenway A
27 Andy Witheford Bournemouth Cycleworks VitecFire FordCivil M
28 Toby Manning S
29 Toby Welstead Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers A
30 Lewis Stripp Mud Sweat n Gears CC M
31 Dan Barfoot A
32 Mark Turner Smith Bournemouth Arrow CC A
33 Michael Walkey M
34 Gordon Coull A

1st Maddy Verdegaal
2nd Rachel Hackman RN&RMCA
3rd Niamh Mandeville Poole Wheelers
4th Carol Tilley Bournemouth Cycleworks Vitec Fire Ford Civil

No comments:

Post a Comment