Thursday 23 May 2019

...a3crg 10, Report/Results

Report: ...a3crg Mid-Week Summer Series ~ Event Two
Men's Middle Markers 10 mile TT plus Separate Women's Event

What is the Royal Navy feeding them on? Just when we got use to Royal Navy diver Gary Chambers winning everything locally, the Navy fire a shot across our unexpected bows (see what I did) by placing six foot twelve Stephen Swindley riding a road bike on the middle markers start sheet at the ...a3crg mid-week ten on the P881 A3 course.

With the majority of the other riders all kitted out in full aero equipment, the 26 year old Swindley was one of four riders on a road bike & non-aero helmet, so hardly a stealthy destroyer. But nevertheless that didn't stop him from torpedoing the field with a 20:47 sinking the opposition. His nearest rival was 23 year old Connor Murphy (TrainSharp) fresh from a spell of crits in Belgium who just 12 seconds behind. Third place rider was Anthony Tugwell riding his third ten "Tuggy" a vet is one of ...a3crg's new recruits & had only done "sportives" before but his 21:55 will make a useful counter to the team.

In 5th & 6th places were the Kingston Wheelers duo of Tom Herbert & Liam Smith & with team mate Steven Hughes in 14th place they took the team award. The 26 year old Smith who won a 4th cat event at the weekend was the scratch man & was very keen on this event but went into the turn corner far to keenly thus losing time on the return due to (perhaps) an "uncomfortable" skinsuit.

In the women's event the "scratch woman" Vicky Gill was unable to make the event so it was left to newly crowned VTTA 10 mile champion Angela Carpenter to take the top spot. With her ...a3crg team mates Sarah Matthews (3rd) & Kirsty McSeveney (5th) they made a "sandwich" of the Trainsharp duo of 2nd place Sally Turner moving up from the previous weeks 3rd place with another "pb" & Lisa Davis making her first appearance in 4th place. In sixth place was Louisa Cooper (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) who appeared disappointed in her ride but was just mere 5 seconds behind McSeveney the closest she had been all season.

Entries are coming in well for the Open 15m tt on the 6th June. The P884b/15 course at Longmoor is probably one of the fastest in the country holding several national records.

Results…a3crg Summer Time Trials 2019
Course P881 (A3) Ham Barn Liss ~ Wednesday 22nd May 2019
Women's Summer Series Event Two
Pos Rider Team/Squadra/Club Cat Actual
1 Angela Carpenter ...a3crg WV 21:37
2 Sally Turner Trainsharp WS 21:44
3 Sarah Matthews ...a3crg WV 22:39
4 Lisa Davis Trainsharp WV 22:43
5 Kirsty McSeveney ...a3crg WS 22:59
6 Louisa Cooper Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers WS 23:04
7 Lara Taylor VC Godalming & Haslemere WV 23:12
8 Deborah Smith Southdown Velo WV 23:19
9 Freya Richardson Hargroves Montezuma RT WJuv 23:29
10 Deborah Sheridan Warwickshire RC WV 23:38
11 Ali Walters VC Godalming & Haslemere WV 24:07
12 Ali Ford GS Vecchi WV 25:19
13 Eva Nyirenda ...a3crg WS 25:55
14 Robyn Yates Addiscombe CC WV 26:38
15 Amy Pretorius ...a3crg WEsp 27:44
16 Deanna Ferrett Hampshire Road Club WV 27:52
17 Lorna Rowland Twickenham CC WV 28:05
Team Classification
Pos Team Counting Riders Time
1 ...a3crg Angela Carpenter, Sarah Matthews, Kirsty McSeveney 01:07:15

...a3crg Summer Series Men's Event Two (Middle Markers)
Pos Rider Team/Squadra/Club Cat Actual
1 Stephen Swindley Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA Sen 00:20:47
2 Connor Murphy Trainsharp Esp 00:20:59
3 Anthony Tugwell ...a3crg Vet 00:21:55
4 Billy Holman ...a3crg Vet 00:21:58
5 Tom Herbert Kingston Wheelers CC Sen 00:22:00
6 Liam Smith Kingston Wheelers CC Sen 00:22:01
7 Mark Wright VC Godalming & Haslemere Vet 00:22:05
8 John Mottershead Portsmouth North End CC Vet 00:22:25
9 Christian Benneyworth Wyndymilla Vet 00:22:32
10 Ryan Sheppard GS Henley Sen 00:22:35
11 Alex Rice Southdown Velo Vet 00:22:38
12 Dale Buckett Bike Jockey CC Esp 00:22:41
13 Toby Clay Petersfield Tri Club Vet 00:22:43
14 Steven Hughes Kingston Wheelers CC Sen 00:22:48
15 Steve Skinner Bognor Regis CC Vet 00:22:51
16 Gary Trudgett Poole Wheelers Vet 00:22:53
17 Derek Dowden Hampshire Road Club Vet 00:22:59
18 Iain Cotton Alton CC Vet 00:23:02
19 Mike Boyce ...a3crg Vet 00:23:20
20 Daniel Sharp Charlotteville CC Vet 00:23:21
21 John French Oxford City Road Club Vet 00:23:25
22 John McGlashan Redmon CC Vet 00:23:29
23 Michael Harrison North Hampshire RC Vet 00:23:32
24 Peter Drabble WORX Factory Racing Juv 00:23:33
25 Mike Marchant Southdown Velo Vet 00:23:35
26 Jonathan Lacey Southdown Velo Vet 00:23:49
27 Michael Gowan Festival Road Club Vet 00:23:51
28 Arthur Waghorn Bognor Regis CC Vet 00:23:53
29 Peter Phipps ...a3crg Vet 00:23:59
30 Alan Doney Portsmouth Triathletes Vet 00:24:00
31= Robert Pretorius ...a3crg Vet 00:24:07
31= Adrian Watkins Tornado Road CC Vet 00:24:07
33 Mike Noad Bayside Tri Club Vet 00:24:30
34 John Isard Hampshire Road Club Vet 00:24:38
35 Ben Fielden GS Stella Vet 00:24:54
36= Simon Craig-McFeely ...a3crg Vet 00:25:03
36= Christopher Rosam Epsom Cycling Club Vet 00:25:03
38 Robert Oliver Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 00:25:18
39 Simon Heron Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 00:25:27
40 Peter Knipe Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 00:25:28
41 Geoff Newman Farnham Road Club Vet 00:25:29
42 Steve Davies Addiscombe CC Vet 00:25:32
43 Vernon Schutte Farnborough & Camberley CC Vet 00:25:54
44 Paul Beck Hampshire Road Club Vet 00:26:35
45 Jeremy Tucker Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 00:26:49
46 Bob Jolliffe New Forest CC Vet 00:26:52
47 Guy Chappelle ...a3crg Vet 00:26:56
48 Ken Rayson ...a3crg Vet 00:27:55
49 Norman Harvey Sotonia CC Vet 00:28:15
Team Classification
Pos Team Counting Riders Time
1 Kingston Wheelers Tom Herbert, Liam Smith, Steven Hughes 01:06:49
2 ...a3crg Anthony Tugwell, Billy Holman, Mike Boyce 01:07:13
3 Southdown Velo Alex Rice, Mike Marchant, Jonathan Lacey 01:10:02
4 Hampshire Road Club Derek Dowden, John Isard, Paul Beck 01:14:12
5 Fareham Wheelers CC Robert Oliver, Simon Heron, Peter Knipe 01:16:13

No comments:

Post a Comment