Tuesday, 6 May 2014

"One Day in Dorset" Start List & Preview.

Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT will look to control the “One Day in Dorset” race on Saturday 24th May. In form Robert McCarthy will be supported by Dave Creeggan, Chris McNamara, Francis Cade, Robert Moore and young climber Mitch Webber. Looking to stop Pedal Heaven dominating the 97 mile race will be a four man KTM road and trail.com squad led by Dave Clarke and backed by Jack Adams, Michael Mottram & Anthony Moye, all four rode the recent Wilton GP and will be up for the fight.
Grant Bayton and his Ride 24/7 team have specifically targeted this race and are expecting to return home to Somerset with a good share of the prize fund. Bayton also rode the Wilton GP and just missed the decisive split. Ben Stockdale, Rhys Lloyd & Will Bjergfelt (Metaltek Kuota RT) may lack numbers but not class. Spirit Bikes, led by Chris Dredge have entered a six man team that includes guest rider, Slovakian Josef Metelca. BH-Solidor-WAM Youth also field a guest in the shape of Greek U23 Time Trial champion Ioannis Spanopoulos, the 21 year old rode the U23 Tour of Flanders and Le Cote Picardie this year. Leading a young Catford CC EQUIPE/Banks team are Harry Franklin & Lawrence Carpenter. Other names that catch the eye include Elliot Porter (Rapha Condor JLT), Glyndwr Griffiths (Artic Tacx RT), Al Murison (Bikeshed UEX), Douglas Coleman (CC Luton, Ben Sumner & Richard Cartland (Southdowns Bikes)
Race HQ Milborne St Andrew Sports Pavillion DT11 OJA
Depart 10:00am
Ben Davis (BH-Solidor-WAM Youth) did a course Recce for his team and had this to say “This is a tough course!! There is nowhere to hide. The Last lap climb (Milton Abbas) is particularly tough and even the "flat" bits aren't really that flat and the course is in excellent condition. The course will guarantee the strongest man wins. I hoping to give the local supporters someone to cheer on being originally from Dorset".
Ben Davis riding for Bristol RC in last years Dorset 2 Day.
Start List
1 Jack Adams KTM road-and-trail.com 1st
2 David Clarke KTM road-and-trail.com 1st
3 Michael Mottram KTM road-and-trail.com 2nd
4 Anthony Moye KTM road-and-trail.com 1st
5 Simon Alexander Richardsons-Trek RT 1st
6 Owen Lake Richardsons-Trek RT 1st
7 Ryhs Howells Richardsons-Trek RT Elite
8 Luke Ryan Richardsons-Trek RT Elite
9 Dean Shannon Richardsons-Trek RT 1st
10 Jozef Metelka Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
11 Mark Baines Spirit Bikes Racing Team Elite
12 Edward Clemens Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
13 Christopher Dredge Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
14 Andrew Marriott Spirit Bikes Racing Team 2nd
15 Jack Waller Spirit Bikes Racing Team 1st
16 Joe Barry Ride 24/7 2nd
17 Grant Bayton Ride 24/7 2nd
18 Billy Osmond Ride 24/7 2nd
19 Michael Ward Ride 24/7 2nd
20 Jack Beezer Arbis - Colbert Cycles RT 2nd
21 Richard Wood Arbis - Colbert Cycles RT 1st
22 Mike Wragg Arbis - Colbert Cycles RT 1st
23 James Bevan Army Cycling Union 2nd
24 Michael Cripps Army Cycling Union 2nd
25 Ryan Perry Army Cycling Union 2nd
26 Alexander Royle Army Cycling Union 1st
27 Roger Theron Army Cycling Union 2nd
28 Cameron Campbell Army Cycling Union 2nd
29 William Bjergfelt Metaltek KUOTA RT Elite
30 Rhys Lloyd Metaltek KUOTA RT 1st
31 Ben Stockdale Metaltek KUOTA RT Elite
32 Francis Cade Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT Elite
33 David Creeggan Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT Elite
34 Robert McCarthy Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT 1st
35 Chris McNamara Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT Elite
36 Robert Moore Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT Elite
37 Mitchell Webber Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT 1st
38 Lawrence Carpenter Catford CC Equipe/Banks 1st
39 Ashley Dennis Catford CC Equipe/Banks 1st
40 Harry Franklin Catford CC Equipe/Banks 1st
41 Henry Latimer Catford CC Equipe/Banks 1st
42 James Walsby Catford CC Equipe/Banks 2nd
43 Liam Yates Catford CC Equipe/Banks 2nd
44 Colin Parry BH-Solidor-WAM Youth Elite
45 Ben Davis BH-Solidor-WAM Youth 1st
46 Bevan Humphreys BH-Solidor-WAM Youth 1st
47 Owen James BH-Solidor-WAM Youth 2nd
48 Loannis Spanopoulos BH-Solidor-WAM Youth 2nd
49 Andrew Feather Bikeshed - UEX 1st
50 Ashley Martin Bikeshed - UEX 2nd
51 Peter Medhurst Bikeshed - UEX 2nd
52 Alexander Murison Bikeshed - UEX Elite
53 Douglas Coleman WITHDRAWN 1st
54 Ashley Cox CC Luton Elite
55 Ewan Farrow Ilkley Cycling Club 2nd
56 Ben Hallworth Ilkley Cycling Club 2nd
57 Brennan Townshend Mid Devon CC 1st
58 James Davey Mid Devon CC 2nd
59 Sol Warwick Falco Racing 2nd
60 Ben Sumner WITHDRAWN Beeline Bicycles RT 1st
61 Chris Spence Casp Racing 2nd
62 Chris Snook Madison Genesis 2nd
63 Elliott Porter Rapha Condor JLT 1st
64 George Moore Bicicielo 1st
65 Scott Gurnett Tanks Direct Cycling 2nd
66 Glyndwr Griffiths Arctic Tacx RT 2nd
67 George Fowler 1st Chard Whls 2nd
68 Russell Falder Clay Cross Road Team 2nd
69 Jay Eastwood Banjo Cycles 1st
70 Sam Davies Abergavenny Road Club 2nd
71 Adam Cotterell WyndyMilla - Reynolds 1st
72 Richard Cleaver Leisure Lakes Bikes.com 2nd
73 Richard Cartland Southdowns Bikes Cycling Club 2nd
74 Jamie Caldwell Starley Primal Pro Cycling Elite
75 Stuart Bowers Hargroves Cycles RT-Specialized-Trant-Next-Elliotts 2nd
76 Thomas Bowering VC Meudon 2nd
77 Malcolm Dixon Dream Cycling 2nd
78 James Phillips Dream Cycling 1st
79 Steven Baker Achieve-Skinnergate Racing 2nd
80 Sam Humphrey VC St Raphael 2nd
81 James Wilson VC St Raphael 1st
82R Calum Croft Mus,Sweat n Gears 2nd
83R Matthew Osborn Casp Racing 2nd
84R David Lowe Dave Hinde RT 2nd
85R Conor Ryan BH-Solidor-WAM Youth 1st
*R* Denotes Reserve Riders

Prize List
1st £400
2nd 300
3rd 240
4th 170
5th 140
6th 120
7th 100
8th 80
9th 70
10th 60
11th 50
12th 40
13th 40
15th 30
16th 30
17th 30
18th 20
19th 20
20th 20

Team of 3 £150
3rd Passage Bulbarrow Hill £50
4th Passage Bulbarrow Hill £50
“Local Riders, Local Races” takes a trip round the course
From the headquarters at Milborne St Andrew the course heads north-east on the A354.Taking the second left in Winterborne Whitechurch, the minor road is flat through the villages of Winterborne Clenston & Winterborne Stickland. One mile through Stickland, at Hedge End, a left turn starts the first climb of Bulbarrow, this three mile; “big ring” drag will do no more than offer good views as it gradually climbs the hill. Through the finish line for the first time at 9.9 miles, the descent to Ansty is uncomplicated; the left hand turn at the bottom will require attention though. A fast, rolling lane returns to Milborne and the A354. Again to Whitechurch but this time the first left at the Milton Arms starts a five mile ascent. The finger signpost at the public house says “6” but relax, it is only five. Like Hedge End, this long rise is never too steep with most staying in the 53. However, the hill is exposed and if the wind blows, an attack on the steepest section above Milton Abbas could do some damage. The climb from Whitechurch is tackled twice before the race hits the six lap,9.6 mile finishing circuit. The historic village of Milton Abbas will provide the backdrop as the battle unfolds. Thirty six,identical, whitewashed thatched cottages stand to attention either side of the road, only a church, the old almshouses & the Hambro Arms interrupt the parade. The road rises through the village but it is only when the houses are behind that the tarmac starts to rear up. Under the trees is where it really hurts before emerging to meet the now familiar Whitechurch road, still three miles from the summit.
"One Day in Dorset" is sponsored by "Local Riders, Local Races" Jurassic Cabs &supported by members & friends of Poole Wheelers.

No comments:

Post a Comment