Wednesday 26 August 2015

British Cycling Announces Long List for Worlds

Press Release

British Cycling has today announced the long list of riders from which the final Great Britain Cycling Team for the forthcoming UCI Road World Championships in Richmond, Virginia, will be confirmed.

Two-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome is long-listed for both the road race and time trial events whilst 2011 world champion Mark Cavendish has been long-listed for the road race. Lizzie Armitstead, who won the World Cup series in 2014, is long-listed for the elite women’s road race.

Great Britain Cycling Team’s Iain Dyer said: “We’ve got a very strong long list of riders from which we will select the final team, and there are some really exciting prospects in the mix including a few riders who sit outside the British Cycling programme structure. We will be announcing the final team for the UCI Road World Championships in due course.”

Elite Men (road race nine places, time trial two places)
Adam Blythe
Mark Cavendish
Steve Cummings
Alex Dowsett
Andy Fenn
Chris Froome
Luke Rowe
Geraint Thomas
Scott Thwaites
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Adam Yates
Simon Yates

Alice Barnes

Elite Women (road race six places, time trial two places)
Lizzie Armitstead
Alice Barnes
Hannah Barnes
Lucy Coldwell
Lucy Garner
Hayley Simmonds
Jessie Walker
Molly Weaver

U23 Men (road race five places, time trial two places)
Hugh Carthy
Gabriel Cullaigh
Scott Davies
Owain Doull
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Matt Gibson
Chris Latham
Chris Lawless
Alex Peters
James Shaw

Junior Men (road race three places, time trial two places)
Nathan Draper
Alex Braybrooke
Joey Walker
Joe Holt
Joseph Fry
Matthew Bostock

Junior Women (road race four places, time trial two places)
Henrietta Colborne
Eleanor Dickinson
Grace Garner
Elizabeth Holden
Abby-Mae Parkinson

No comments:

Post a Comment