Thursday 14 June 2012

GHS - South District Time Trial Championship

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations by Poole Wheelers

Course: P459C Event Secretary: Graham Hurst
Date: Wednesday 20th June 2012 15 De Courtenai Close
Timekeepers: Bearwood
Start Mrs Ros Spencer Bournemouth
Finish Mrs Ros Spencer BH11 9PG
Recorder Mrs Joan Price Tel : 01202 579899

Course Record 22:54 Terry Icke 2nd August 2006
The Event Headquarters will be in the : Lay-by just North of the start / finish in Puddletown Road.
Parking – There is ample parking in the lay-by in Puddletown Road just past the stat / finish

Prize List There are no monitory prizes for this event although the first 3, first team and winners of each category as detailed on the entry form will automatically qualify for the national final on Saturday the 8th September promoted by the Newbury Road Club.

All competitors will receive a commemorative Medal and Certificate

Important Note

Safety Helmets – As regulation 15 printed in the Cycling Time Trials Handbook it is a requirement all youth and junior competitors to wear a Protective Hard Shell Helmet. If you are not wearing a helmet you will not be allowed to start. It is also strongly recommended you use a rear flashing light.


P459C Course Diagram :

P459C Course Description :

START on unclassified road (Puddletown Road) opposite the most southern end of lay-by approx 0.15 miles from the Gallows hill junction
Proceed to junction and turn left. 0.15 miles
Proceed South to Roundabout junction with A352 (2.23miles) where left along A352 eastbound to Worgret Heath where WITH CARE turn very sharp left (hairpin) onto unclassified road 5.83miles
Proceed north-west across heath to
FINISH at same point as the Start 10.15 miles
Course Leg Details
Leg No Start End Distance Road Type Ascent (feet) Ascent Percentage Descent (feet) Descent Percentage
1 Start Gallows Hill 0.15 Other B or Fast Unclassified Road 0 0.000 3 0.417
2 Gallows Hill Wool A352 Rbt 2.08 Other B or Fast Unclassified Road 13 0.240 180 3.293
3 Wool A352 Rbt Worgret Heath 3.60 Other A or Fast B Road 134 1.416 121 1.278
4 Worgret Heath Finish 4.32 Other B or Fast Unclassified Road 236 2.069 78 0.690

Any rider observed riding in a manner which may jeopardise his or her own safety, the safety of others and the future of the Sport will be reported to the South District Council of Cycling Time Trials

Notes and local regulations
1. NO warming up in the start or finish area once the event has started.
2. Riders must not cross the carriageway or make U-turns in the vicinity of the start or finish.
3. The NUMBERS will be at the Event Headquarters , which can be exchanged for a drink afterwards. Riders must sign the Official Signing on sheet to obtain their race number
4 All parking to be in the lay-by in Puddletown Road .
5 No times will be given by the timekeeper at the finish, but will be posted on the results board at the HQ.
6 Any rider observed riding in a manner which may jeopardise his or her own safety, the safety of others and the future of the sport will be disqualified and reported to CTT South DC
Your attention is drawn to:
7 Reg. 20 (Observation of the law.).
8 Reg. 21 (Paced and company riding).
9 Observers may be in attendance along the course.

Start Sheet GHS Time Trial
No Name Club School Age* Start Time
1 Alex Hall Andover Wheelers John Hanson Community School 12M 7.15pm
2 Emily Hall Andover Wheelers John Hanson Community School 14F 7.16pm
3 Alex Van Katwyk Guernsey Velo Club M12 7.17pm
4 Sophie Dorey Guernsey Velo Club F14 7.18pm
5 Joseph Donohue Fareham Wheelers Meoncross M15 7,19pm
6 Hugo Walters New Forest CC King Edward VI School M16 7.20pm
7 Tristan Robins Cardiff JIF Marlborough College M16 7.21pm
8 Danny Alderton Guernsey Velo Club M16 7.22pm
9 Harrison Fielding Poole Wheelers M16 7.23pm
* Age as at 31st August 2012

Have a safe ride and Good Luck

What is the GHS Championship?

It is a competition named after the late George Herbert Stancer OBE (1878-1962)

The George Herbert Stancer 10 Mile Time Trial Championship is named in tribute to a man of many talents. George Herbert Stancer or GHS as he was known, in his early years was a nationally renowned performer on both cycle and tricycle holding both titles & records. Throughout his career he was a leading administrator of the sport, taking over the presidency of the C.T.C. in 1920 at a time when the membership was only about 8,500. Almost from the day he took over the membership started to grow again, and he had the satisfaction of seeing it rise to over 50,000 before his retirement in 1945. GHS was also for several years editor of “Cycling magazine” and he continued to be active in the sport until his death in 1962. After his death a trust fund was established with aim of promoting and encouraging participation amongst the young. To this end the National Schools 10 mile championship was formed and later adopted by the RTTC in 1970.

No comments:

Post a Comment