Wednesday 21 March 2018

Canyon Eisberg Named for Tour de Yorkshire

Chris Opie
Canyon Eisberg have today been named among 20 teams for the fourth Tour de Yorkshire, which begins in Beverley on Thursday, May 3.

The team announced themselves on the scene at the UCI 2.1 contest last season, with three breakaways, two jerseys and a podium.

The race has now been extended to four days and Tim Elverson's British Continental outfit will be bidding to make their mark again.

“It was one of our best races last year. It was certainly the race which underlined us as having arrived and we are delighted to be invited back.

“It is a very organised, fun race in exceedingly good surroundings with some amazing teams.

“I have very fond memories of last year. We had a great few days. Morale was very high, everyone started well and we delivered.

“This is a day longer, which might change how it gets raced. There are two particularly tough days, so it is going to be very hard.

“The extra day offers us an extra chance to show ourselves, though, and another opportunity to get things right. We can’t wait to get stuck in again.

“We have improved the squad and the riders who have stayed are a year better, so naturally we are going to be able to elevate ourselves in that way.

“I think we will just be more comfortable in our surroundings, which will make us even more capable of delivering results. Maybe better results.

“First and foremost, though, it is another chance to go out and play with the big boys, which we will all relish.”

The full list of teams for the 2018 Tour de Yorkshire:

— Six UCI WorldTour teams:
Astana Pro Team (KAZ),
BMC Racing Team (USA),
Team Dimension Data (RSA),
Team Katusha Alpecin (SUI),
Team Sky (GBR)
Team Sunweb (GER).

— Seven UCI Pro Continental teams:
Aqua Blue Sport (IRE),
Cofidis, Solutions Credits (FRA),
Direct Energie (FRA),
Euskadi Basque Country – Murias (ESP),
Rally Cycling (USA),
Roompot – Nederlandse Loterij (NED)
Vital Concept (FRA).

— Six UCI Continental teams:
Canyon Eisberg (GBR),
Holdsworth Pro Racing (IRE),
JLT Condor (GBR),
Madison Genesis (GBR),
One Pro Cycling (GBR)
Vitus Pro Cycling (GBR).

One national team: Team GB (GBR).

The full list of teams for the 2018 Asda Tour de Yorkshire Women’s Race

Ale Cipollini (ITA),
Bepink Cogeas (ITA),
Boels Dolmans Cycling Team (NED),
Boompods EDCo (GBR),
Canyon Sram Racing (GER),
Drops Cycling Team (GBR),
Experza-Footlogix (BEL),
FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope (FRA),
Hitec Products (NOR),
Doltcini – Van Eyck Sport (BEL),
Movistar Team (ESP),
NCC Group-Kuota-Torelli (GBR),
Parkhotel Valkenburg (NED),
Storey Racing (GBR),
Team GB (GBR),
Team OnForm (GBR),
Team Jadan Weldtite (GBR),
Team Sunweb (NED),
Team WNT (GBR) and
Wiggle High5 Pro Cycling (GBR).

Photos: Hugh McManus

No comments:

Post a Comment