Monday 16 April 2012

Stephenson in Good Form at Tour of Mendips

Will Stephenson (Primera/Specialized) was pleased with his 6th place at the Tour of the Mendips and was in the thick of the action. The Ringwood –based junior had a slow early season but is coming into form nicely.
“ The race was really tough and don't go the way I'd planned. My legs didn't feel great on the first day and I had to do a lot of work trying to bridge gaps and pull back breaks because I panicked too much when a group of 10 or so got a minute and a half lead. By the end of the stage I was completely knackered. At the start of stage 2 my legs were still feeling stiff. I managed to keep up and push on with the leaders on the hills though which eventually got me in a 6 man break with about 30km to go. Legs were pretty shot after a day of hard efforts so couldn't give much more on the final climb but managed to stick close to the others and not lose too much time. Jon Dibben, Dan Pearson and Alex Peters were all going strong. I was pleased to get 6th on GC @38s especially as my legs weren't going as well as they have been. Also an improvement on my 7th in the last junior national series race. A good weekends racing, bring on the next race!” Will later posted on Facebook “After getting up for races so early over the past tweo days , waking up for school seems like a lie in”
Next up for Stephenson is the Sandie Radford Memorial Road Race this weekend. He will also be riding the Raymond Brown Track league at the new Bournemouth Velodrome. The first point scoring event is on May 1st, the Bournemouth Cycling Centre is holding two “dress rehearsals” ahead of that, with the first one on Tuesday 17th at 18.00


1 Alex Peters Mosquito Bikes 00:00:00
2 Tao Geohegan-Hart Cycling Club Hackney 00:00:00
3 Sebastian Bayliss Mid Devon CC 00:00:15
4 Jonathan Dibben Hargroves Cycles-Specialised-Trant-Next-Elliott’s 00:00:28
5 Dan Pearson Wilier/Live 2 Ride 00:00:29
6 Will Stephenson Primera Specialized 00:00:38
7 Sam Lowe Hargroves Cycles-Specialised-Trant-Next-Elliott’s 00:02:24
8 Joe Kirkham Hargroves Cycles-Specialised-Trant-Next-Elliott’s 00:02:30
9 Owen James M&D Cycles/Kinetica RT 00:02:30
10 Dale McCallum Team Scotland 00:02:36
11 Jo Moses Sportscover Altura RT 00:02:44
12 Craig Wallace Granite City RT 00:02:47
13 Hugh Carthy Champion system / maxgear / kyklos 00:02:49
14 Alastair Hepworth Batley CC / Hargreaves Cycles 00:02:53
15 Felix Barker East Region Team 00:02:53
16 William Worrall M&D Cycles/Kinetica RT 00:02:55
17 Chris Lawless Champion system / maxgear / kyklos 00:02:59
18 Jake Kelly Team Microgaming Isle of Man 00:03:07
19 George Pym Exeter Wheelers 00:03:07
20 Jacob Scott Planet X 00:03:07
21 Jake Womersley Sportscover Altura RT 00:03:10
22 Olly Wood Sportscover Altura RT 00:03:12
23 James King Mountivation Development Academy 00:03:12
24 Matt Flynn Mountivation Development Academy 00:03:23
25 Ed Laverack Team Tredz 00:04:05
26 Christopher Latham Champion system / maxgear / kyklos 00:04:38
27 Scott Davies M&D Cycles/Kinetica RT 00:04:46
28 Rory Townsend Prestige Velo Club 00:05:33
29 Matthew Thompson Cardiff JIF/Cyclopaedia 00:06:08
30 Jack Plummer Cadence Cannondale 00:06:54
31 Joshua Ferguson WheelGuru RT 00:08:11
32 Ben Lamb Wilier/Live 2 Ride 00:09:27
33 Josh Knights Mountivation Development Academy 00:10:08
34 Cameron Balfour Team Scotland 00:10:10
35 Zachery May Cardiff JIF/Cyclopaedia 00:10:11
36 Josh Green Glenedene CC 00:10:40
37 Tom Arnstein Team Scotland 00:11:12
38 Adam Lewis Wolverhampton Wheelers 00:11:26
39 Ashley Proctor Sportscover Altura RT 00:09:21
40 Ashley Martin Cadence Cannondale 00:12:14
41 James Jobber East Region Team 00:13:20
42 Frazier Carr AW 00:14:51
43 Stuart McCluskey Team Scotland 00:15:48
44 Owen Thomas M&D Cycles/Kinetica RT 00:16:48
45 Jordan Wade VC St Raphael/Waite Contracts/Paul Hewitt Cycles 00:16:48
46 Taylor Cardus Velo 29 00:20:40
47 James Newey Cadence Sport 00:23:13
48 Matthew Hargroves Hargroves Cycles-Specialised-Trant-Next-Elliott’s 00:23:22
49 Jacob Ragan Champion system / maxgear / kyklos 00:23:35
50 Samuel Williams NFTO Race 00:25:29
51 Henry Hunter Team 00:26:13
52 Alex Haddock Team Microgaming Isle of Man 00:30:09
53 Joseph Crolla AW 00:30:40
54 Dan Marshall Bristol Cycling Development Squad 00:30:40
55 Andy Shackel VC St Raphael/Waite Contracts/Paul Hewitt Cycles 00:31:08
56 Ashley Clitheroe Team 00:32:56
57 Alan Trolove East Region Team 00:42:41
58 Luke Hattersley East Region Team 00:49:45
59 William Macke AW 01:02:25
60 Adam Holt Team Tredz 01:10:15
61 Tim Ryan Cardiff JIF/Cyclopaedia 01:10:45
62 Harry Loader VO2 Development Team 01:31:30
63 Rhys Thomas Team Tredz 01:31:48

No comments:

Post a Comment