Sunday 3 December 2017

Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 100km Reliability Trial

Ninety riders signed on at Merley for the Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 100km Reliability Trial, the second trial in the four ride winter series. "The Hilly Hundred" often falls victim to ice, yes it was cold this year but the temperature was rising, the sun even putting in an appearance, drying the wet roads on the clockwise course. The route is 2.5 miles long but the Jubilee do not charge for the extra mileage, but you do get an additional 10 minutes to complete the course, a bargain at just £2. After negotiating Lytchett Matravers, Morden & Wareham the traditional diet of winter miles gets tasty with the leg-softening amuse-bouche of Middlebere Heath, Cocknowle, Cooombe Keynes and Bovington before the main course that is Milton Abbas. Rising up through the picture postcard village, the road is at its steepest before turning left, heading towards Bulbarrow and the fast descent to Winterborne Stickland. Over to Blandford and Langton Long, the pace quickens with the end in sight, faster still along the Cowgrove, the acceleration of young legs reminding not so young legs that they have had their day. Back at Merley, as we brag about our ride, Aimee & Lauren serve up cups of tea,cold cans, bacon butties & homemade cakes, giving up their Sunday to do so, they are the most reliable of all today, the promoting club is fortunate indeed.

4hrs 40min 84 miles

Jacob Aries
Will Baker
Nick Barks
Drew Birrell
Darren Bonner
Karl Bonner
Fran Bowerman
Mark Bowerman
Stu Bowers
Kate Bowers
Lizzy Campbell
Paul Canham
Gary Chiverton
Raymond Claridge
Andy Cooper
Alun Davies
Chris Davis
Eamonn Deane
Victor Douglas
Neil Evans
Mark Freeman
Dave Goodwin
Steve Gordon
Andy Graham
Phillip Grant
Simon Green
Steve Groome
David Harbord
Craig Harris
Kevin Harris
Neil Harrison
Martin Hart
Steve Hawes
Ian Hayden
Emily Hingston
Clare Hunt
Michalina Hutna
Neil Ingles
Nick James
Wayne Jennings
Andrew Kahn
Phil Kelly
Charlie Lowis
Mike Mackenzie
Maggie Maundrell
Martin Mitchell
Pete Morgan
Ben Mottram
Adrian Murray
Andy Neil
Maria Nuñez
John O'Brien
Kevin Owen
Matt Palmer
Wayne Paul
Dan Pearce
Stuart Peckham
Graham Perkins
Joan Perkins
Robert Piper
Steve Pye
Bob Richardson
Kevin Ridge
Martin Ross
Cliff Rowe
John Samways
Phillip Scriven
Andy Smith
Tim Smith
Bob Smith
Zak Snell
Julian Snook
Neil Stevenson
Tom Stocker
Tom Temple
Daniel Thompson
Lyndon Thompson
Carol Tilley
Roland Tilley
Simon Tonkin
Sam Tresman
Andy Vickers
Michelle Walter
Richard Walter
Blair Ward
Mark Westcott
John Williams

David Wilson

Pete Wilson

Nigel Winter

No comments:

Post a Comment