Sunday, 13 July 2014

Reedy Wins Primera Purbeck Road Race!

Kamden Reedy (Dymag T-1-D) won the Primera Purbeck road race, dropping his two breakaway companions on the penultimate climb of East Creech hill above Poole Harbour. Chris Courage (Bournemouth Jubilee Wh) had dangled off the front on the first lap and primes at the finish line of each lap helped split the race early doors, with riders keen to earn a tenner. Greg Lancaster(VC Bristol/Webbs of Warmley)also enjoyed some air off the front but it was just an appetiser for the main to come. Reedy attacked on the third of eight 5 mile laps of the Furzebrook circuit, pulling away with Tim O’Rourke (Twickenham CC), Paul Double (Velo Club Venta) & Carl Silver (Bournemouth Jubilee). Silver quickly dropped back but the other three pressed on with what turned out to be the race winning move.
A 15 second gap on lap 3 grew to 50 seconds by lap 5 as the bunch failed to mount an effective chase. By the sixth passage of East Creech the trio had 1:15 and were cleaning up the primes between them. Eighteen year old Double was feeling the pace, O’Rourke gave him a helping push on the lower slopes and in doing so dropped his chain and it was race over for the good Samaritan! Double also ended his day in the sun, falling back to the tiring bunch. Bristol-based Reedy, an aerospace engineer from Arizona had been the strongest in the break and enjoyed a solitary last lap before celebrating across the line, 1:23 clear. He likes the more aggressive racing this side of the pond but is not so keen on the “small roads” Oliver Yates (RN &RM CA) clipped off the front on the hill to take second with Jordan Frampton (Primera-UK Biking) winning the sprint for third.
The Primera sponsored race was the first of two races on the tough Furzebrook circuit, the second date in September to be confirmed.
1 Kamden Reedy Dymag-T-1-D 3rd
2 Oliver Yates Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA 3rd
3 Jordan Frampton Primera – UK - Biking 4th
4 David Boss Mud Sweat n Gears CC 4th
5 Tom Maisey Bristol RC 4th
6 Chris Tomsett Southampton University RC 3rd
7 Roland Tilley 3rd
8 Peter Warner 3rd
9 Pete Beilby Primera-UK-Biking 3rd
10 Chris Courage Bournemouth Jubilee Whls 3rd
11 Julian Thacker VC St Raphael 3rd
12 George Smith Gillingham and District Wheelers/Wheels Cycles 3rd
13 Adam Hunneyball Primera – UK – Biking 4th
14 Greg Lancaster VC Bristol / Webbs of Warmley 3rd
15 Adam Thompson Reading CC 3rd
16 Joseph Henstridge NFTO Race Club 3rd
17 Barry Clewett VC St Raphael 3rd
18 Timothy Dawkins Sotonia CC 4th
19 Bryce Riglar CC Weymouth 4th
20 Vincent Avery Mid Devon CC 3rd
21 Julian Lockwood Private Member 4th
22 Daniel Alford Bristol South CC 4th
23 Dave Pickering Bournemouth Jubilee Whls 3rd
24 Ryan Weston Poole Whls CC 4th
25 James Franklin Velo Club Venta 3rd
26 Carl Silver Bournemouth Jubilee Whls 3rd
27 Mark Valentine Poole Whls CC 3rd
28 Pete Carter Sick Fetish Pain Cult 4th
29 Mathew Blackmore Bristol RC 3rd
30 Graham Biles Private Member 4th
31 Mark Hudson Bristol South CC 4th
32 Theo Webb Velo Club Venta 3rd
33 Tom Stocker Bournemouth Jubilee Whls 3rd
34 Giles Greening Mud Sweat n Gears CC 4th
34 Holly Gamble Ride 24/7 4th
35 Matthew Bond Salisbury Road and Mountain CC 4th
36 Paul Double Velo Club Venta 4th
37 Tim O'Rourke Twickenham CC 3rd
38 Andrew Lockwood Southampton University RC 3rd
39 Tim Warner Blazing Saddles Cycles 3rd
40 John Chapman CC Weymouth 4th
41 Stephen Tiernan Southampton University RC 4th
42 Thomas Hogan Ride 24/7 4th
43 Matthew Child Poole Whls CC 4th
45 Alex Willis Ride 24/7 4th
46 Alistair Bunting Primera-UK-Biking 3rd
47 Gary Hill JMJ RT 3rd
48 Michael Courage Bournemouth Jubilee Whls 4th
49 Charlotte Sampson Bournemouth Arrow CC/Hotel Collingwood 4th
DNF Peter Humphreys Gillingham and District Wheelers/Wheels Cycles 3rd
DNF David Mitchell I-Team Cyclists' Club 3rd
DNF Howard Radcliffe I-Team Cyclists' Club 3rd
DNF Martin Rowland Poole Whls CC 3rd
DNF Peter Cowell Rock N Road Cycles 4th
DNF Matthew Heathcote Rock N Road Cycles 3rd
DNF James Moore Rock N Road Cycles 4th
DNF Oliver Clark RP Racing Team 3rd
DNF Richard Butterfield Somer Valley CC 3rd
DNS Peter Phillips Bath Cycling Club 3rd
DNS Rupert Silman Bournemouth Jubilee Whls 3rd
DNS Edward Rowe Sotonia CC 4th
DNS Jonathan Wren Sotonia CC 4th
DNS William Griffiths Southampton University RC 3rd

No comments:

Post a Comment