Sunday 17 November 2013

Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers Prize Presentation 2013

Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers celebrated the year with their annual awards dinner at Colehill Cricket club near Wimborne. Guest of honour, Gary Dighton(Poole Wheelers) spoke light heartedly about the rivalry between the two clubs and accepted a few boo’s with good grace, all tongue in cheek, of course. In a straw poll of miles ridden during the week, the former Olympian came out on top with 335. Dighton praised the club for their open time trial promotions and is looking forward to next year’s National 50, promoted by the Jubilee. Zena Dighton provided the glamour and accepted a boquet of flowers, Zena was part of the Oundle Velo team that set comp record at 15 miles in 1996, a record that still stands today. Forty Eight members and guests attended the dinner, a far cry from the one hundred & fifty plus “bun fights” of the past. However social secretary, Kevin Ridge, with the blessing of the committee, provided free wine with the meal and a good time was had by all.
Award Winners
21st Anniversary Cup Service to the Club CLIVE PESKETT
Atty Memorial Cup Veteran on Standard at 25, 50 DAVE PICKERING
Boyson Trophy Multi-discipline Points et CLIFF ROWE
Brian Messer Shield Off Road or Non Solo Road Bike RUPERT SILMAN
Cyclo-Cross Trophy Highest placed rider in Wessex League SIMON MEADWELL
Dee McMullen Cup BJW Woman in Bmth & Dist WCA LARRAINE WHITE
Douglas Bishop Memorial Cup Best Novice Rider PETER TRUNWITT
Eric Day Memorial Cup Club run attendance ANDY/LOUISA COOPER
Founders Cup First Open Event Win TIM MCDOWELL
Golden Jubilee Trophy Club Scratch points series JON CLEMAS
Ind Coope Trophy Team in Open 50 Time Trial POOLE WH 2011
Joan Attenborough Cup Fastest Women's 25-mile TT LARRAINE WHITE
Jubilee Cup Fastest 25-mile TT (in Jubilee Open) TIM MCDOWELL
Millennium Trophy Highest BCF Ranked CLUB SIMON MEADWELL
New Waverley Cup Team in Open 25 Time Trial POOLE WHEELERS
Page Trophy Veteran's Fastest 25 miles NICK FREWIN
Royal Enfield Cup Fastest 50-mile TT (in Jubilee 50) JON CLEMAS
Sandown Trophy Most Improved Rider PETE TRUNWITT
Tom Shepherd Cup Hill Climb Champion SIMON MCLAUGHLIN
Wilfred Watton Memorial Cup Women's evening 10-mile points LARRAINE WHITE

No comments:

Post a Comment