Monday 16 July 2012

Local Riders,Local Races

Bob Jolliffe reports……NEW Forest Cycling Club powerhouse Gary Lock took advantage of rare dry and still conditions to take third place in Poole Wheelers’ 10-mile time trial on Sunday with a personal best time of 20min 32sec.Still reaping the benefits of riding the 800km Transalp event at the end of June, Lock hewed a huge 1min 22sec from his previous best to finish just seven seconds behind former national champion Gary Dighton (Poole Whrs) and four seconds in arrears of Simon Mclaughlin (Bournemouth Jubilee Whrs).
New Forest’s Stuart Peckham was made up after clocking two personal bests in a week. On Tuesday he improved six seconds to 23-55 in the Bournemouth Jubilee 10 on the Ringwood-Sopley course and he reduced that to 23-01 on the Upton course on Sunday.Clubmate Chris Hughes equalled his second best time ever of 23-16, Chris Jolliffe finished with 25-58 which was only five seconds off his season’s best and elder brother Bob set his fastest since 1998 with 27-36.The previous day in the North Hampshire Road Club 10 at Bentley – won by Totton’s Steve Whitewick (Contre la Montre) in a rapid 20-08 – the Jolliffe brothers clocked 26-32 and 28-50, Chris being the faster. Club chairman Margaret Read’s daughter Maria clocked a personal best 36-39 in the event and grandson Matthew finished with 26-40. Both ride in Farnham Road Club colours.Russell Kober (Hainault RC) was second with 20-51 and Oliver Roberts (Pbscience) third with 21-09.
The wet weather which affected the North Hants RC 10 led to the cancellation of the Army Cycling Union 10 at Liss, but the Army’s 25 on Sunday went ahead and was won by A3 Cycle Racing Group’s Sebastian Ader in 52-48.Second claim New Forest CC member Martin Beale was annoyed with himself for mistaking the finish point and ended up with a time of 58-34. His VC St Raphael teammate Andy Rivett clocked 55-41 and GA Cycles pair Ray Claridge and Richard Blake finished with times of 57-15 and 1-01-25 respectively.
Poole Wheelers Club 10 15/07/12
1 Gary Dighton Poole Wheelers 20.25
2 Simon McLaughlin BJW 20.28
3 Gary Lock New Forest 20.32
4 Terry Icke Poole Wheelers 20.35
5 Greg Parker CC Weymouth 20.38
6 Paul Jones Poole Wheelers 20.43
7 Andy Buddle Poole Wheelers 20.51
8 Leighton Girling Poole Wheelers 21.42
9 Darren Lewis Poole Wheelers 21.50
10 Richard Davidson Poole Wheelers 21.50
11 Jon Clemas BJW 22.08
12 Gary Tuskin Poole Wheelers 22.24
13 Phil Akerman Chippenham 22.29
14 John Vinson Poole Wheelers 22.38
15 Pete Wilson Bmth Arrow 22.39
16 Dave Hicks BJW 22.39
17 Louise Dutch Poole Wheelers 22.55
18 Craig Weston Poole Wheelers 22.59
19 Stuart Peckham New Forest 23.01
20 Chris Hughes New Forest 23.16
21 Grant Drummond Poole Wheelers 23.40
22 David Gardner Poole Wheelers 23.50
23 Howard Pankhurst Poole Wheelers 24.21
24 Martin Rattue Poole Wheelers 24.49
25 Stuart Carrington CC Weymouth 24.51
26 Phil Harvey BJW 24.59
27 Chris Jolliffe New Forest 25.58
28 Judith Martin Poole Wheelers 26.02
29 Lee Marsden Poole Wheelers 26.40
30 Jonathan Terry Poole Wheelers 26.54
31 Bob Jolliffe New Forest 27.36
32 Pete Cotty Poole Wheelers 27.39
33 John Burrows Poole Wheelers 29.04
34 Brian Wakley Wessex RC 29.44
35 Lisa North BJW 30.29
36 Oliver Carrington CC Weymouth 30.44

No comments:

Post a Comment