Thursday 28 April 2011

Weekly Round-Up 29/04/2011

Harry Bulstrode (Cannondale) won the 35 mile Sandie Radford Memorial Road Race at Nomansland in the New Forest. Sponsored by Radford Accountants and promoted by Glenn Longland & Antelope racing, the race was originally run under British Cycling rules but is now a League International race. Escaping in a small group that included Bulstrodes teammate Andy Bryson, Poole Mountain Biker, Roland Tilley (, Will Stephenson (Bournemouth Arrow/Hotel Collingwood) and James Astbury (Hargroves Cycles). This elite group built a lead of over two minutes and the race was over for the bunch. Bulstrode attacked on the final climb through the village to win alone, by 30 seconds. Stephenson grabbed 2nd while Tilley had to settle for 4th place, losing out to Bryson in the sprint. A field of 44 rolled away from the start on a hot breezy afternoon and the favourites controlled the race,before setting up the decisive break.
Steve Moss (Bournemouth Arrow/Hotel Collingwood) picked up second place (again) at the Portsmouth Easter Circuit Races at the Mountbatten Centre, Morgan Williams & Andy Betteridge (NFCC)were also in action. The first open track meet at Portsmouth for around seven years saw Rob Jeffries (Poole Wheelers) take 3rd in the Omnium, Rebbecca Hurst and Gordon Skillen were also in action for the Wheelers.

Rob Jeffries (Poole Wh)

• Local riders had to settle for the minor placings as Devon visitor Tom Alliban (Revo Racing) took top spot in the CC Weymouth 10 mile time trial. Recording a time of 21.10 on the Owermoigne-Winfrith course, Alliban was 10 sec clear of Julian Thacker (Vc St Raphael), with Leighton Girling (Poole Wh) snatching a surprise 3rd place in 21.31 Girlings teammates Terry Icke 21.33 & Gary Dighton 21.55 gave Poole Wheelers the Team Prize. Judy Martin, 27.37, also took the ladies award for the Poole club.
• The South Districts ruling of mandatory rear lights in open time trials has been rescinded. The national committee have decided the South DC were “exceeding their powers” This will be the position for the rest of this season. Local clubs can still choose to enforce the ruling in their own club events.

Colin Humm (NFCC) Won the Romsey XPL Research Triathlon on Sunday,Colin made short work of the 400m swim,16.2 mile bike & 3.7 mile run!

Club Events
BDWCA 10 24/04/11 P311 –24/04/11 starters?
1 J Jenkinson (Utag-Yamaha) 21.49
2 S More (Antelope RT) 23.09
3 G Longland (Antelope RT) 24.48

Poole Wheelers 30 P412- 25/04/11- 31 starters
1, J. Jenkinson (utag Yamaha) 1.02.44
2. G Dighton 1.05.38
3, P Matthews (Utag-Yamaha) 1.05.54

CC Weymouth P451- 26/4/11- Hilly 18- 12 starters
1, J Thacker (vc St Raphael) 45.55
2, J Chapman 49.14
3, G Parker 49.48

Bournemouth Jubilee 10 26/04/11 P311-28 Starters
1,W Newbury (Primera) 22.53
2,K King (Sotonia) 22.58
3, M Savage 23.21
Will Newbery

NFCC 10 P164-26/04/11 45 Starters
1, G Allan (GA Cycles) 22.45
2, J Shaw (Drag2Zero) 22.46
3, M.Beale(VC StRaphael) 23.08

Poole Wheelers 10 P412 27/04/11 27 Starters
1, G Dighton 21.19
2,T Icke 21.22
3,L Girling 21.25
Andy Mayfield

Bournemouth Arrow 10 P311 26 Starters
1, W.Stephenson 21.58
2, S Moore (Antelope RT) 23.26
3, A Mayfield 24.09

No comments:

Post a Comment