Friday 22 April 2011

Weekly Round up

• Bryce Dyer (VC ST Raphael) picked up his third win of the season in the EDCA 27KM time trial. Bournemouth based Dyer proved to strong for the opposition on the undulating course around Bovington. His winning time of 37.10 put him 18secs ahead of teammate and former CC Weymouth rider, Julian Thacker. Poole Wheelers veteran Terry Icke snatched third place in 37.51 just 3 secs ahead of race favourite Gary Dighton. With Andy Buddle, 38.57 in 5th place the Poole club were clear winners of the team award Louise Burman (AC3RG) won the ladies event her time of 43.52 putting her well ahead of Claire Fraser (Army Cycling Union), 47.07. Icke, Dighton and Rob Jeffries had ridden the Yeovil 10 the day before and come away with the team prize, making it a good weekend for the Wheelers. Paul Jones (Bournemouth Jubilee) opted for the super fast Acme Wheelers 25 course in Wales and finished 10th with a time of 52.20. National champion, Michael Hutchinson won the event with a blistering 47.00.
• Bournemouth Arrow/Hotel Collingwood, youngsters, Will Stephenson and Ellie Gilham continue to impress. Stephenson came second at the Fareham Wheelers Spring road race, Stephenson and eventual winner Jonathon Dibben (Hargroves Cycles) had attacked and ridden clear of the bunch, building a lead of over a minute. Dibben proved to strong for his younger rival on the final climb to the finish but it was an impressive result for the 16 year old Stephenson.

• Meanwhile Ellie Gilham traveled to Kent for the Herne Hill spring omnium track meeting. Ellie rode the Scratch race, the 3 lap dash, devil and the point’s race and her combined results gave her 2nd place. She then went on to ride the 20km scratch race at the end of the meeting, finishing third lady.
. Mountain bikers were in action last weekend at Dalby Forest in Yorkshire. The second round of the British Cross country series saw plenty of local riders in the thick of the action. Mike Cotty,Garrett Hill,Sam Shepherd,Kim Little, Simon Lesser,Stuart King, Jon Hayes & Carol Tilley had all made the journey north to race. Paul Hopkins(Merida) won the Vets race, chased by Darren Shepherd (Primera), Mark Chadbourne & Roland Tilley ( Steve Moors.

Easter Saturday sees the Sandie Radford Memorial Road Race at Nomansland,Hampshire. Run under TLI rules handicap format,the 35 mile race starts at 1430 and entry on the line is available. HQ is at the Reading Rooms,Nomansland.
CC Weymouth promote their open 10 mile time trial on the same afternoon on the P451, Owermoigne-Winfrith course. Local favourites, Bryce Dyer,Julian Thacker,Gary Dighton,Terry Icke & Les Pick will not have it all their own way,expect the challenge to come from Geoff Loveman (Fareham wh), Tom Alliban (Revo Racing) & Michael Loader (Yeovil cc)

Club Time trials this week.
CC Weymouth 10 -22 starters
1.J Thacker (vc st Raphael) 21.53
2.G Dighton (poole wh) 22.09
3. J Chapman 22.57

Bournemouth Jubilee 10 -19 starters
1. J Clemas 24.44
2.W Clark 25.01
3.D Hicks 25.21
New Forest cc - 10 P303 41 Starters, (25 NFCC)
1. M.Beale(vc st Raphael) 23.13
2.C Humm 23.23
3.J Sibley (Utag Yamaha) 23.34

Julia Shaw (drag2zero) 23.43
Julian Jenkinson/Stephen Whitewick (utag-Yamaha) 2 up 21.02

Poole Wh 26 starters P402c
1,G Dighton 21.27
2,L Girling 21.29
3,T Icke 21.31

Bournemouth Arrow P311 21 Starters
1,W. Stephenson 21.47
2,K King (Sotonia)22.32
3,B Boardman (NFCC) 22.55

No comments:

Post a Comment