Sunday 21 October 2012

Inter Club Hill Climb.Buddle Best on Whiteway

Andy Buddle (Poole Wheelers) conquered the slopes of Whiteway hill on Dorset’s Jurassic coast to win the final round of the inter-club competition. In a close fought ascent, Buddle edged out club mate Harrison Fielding by just 2 seconds. The gap between Fielding and pre-race favourite Simon McLaughlin (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) was even smaller, Fielding getting the verdict by half a second. Better known as a track rider Buddle proved his versatility, coming from behind both Fielding & McLaughlin to end his season on a high!

Starting on the edge of East Lulworth, Whiteway is the longest of the 4 climbs in the series. Initially flat, the big ring start does not last long as the road ramps up into the Purbecks. The right & left handers near the summit give the riders false hope as the chequered flag is some way ahead. It was here that Buddle won the fight as McLaughlin paid for his lack of racing. Fielding wins the individual series outright, with a first, two seconds and a fourth place. The 16 year old moves up to the junior ranks next season and is planning to focus more on road racing. Although talented on the track, Fielding sees his future on the road and will be riding the national junior series. Pressure of work for McLaughlin made it difficult for him to find the consistency of the previous two years. The on-call doctor was forced to pull out of the previous weeks Catford & Bec CC events but he was offering no excuses for his first defeat on Whiteways. Poole Wheelers pushed CC Weymouth hard this time but the west Dorset club won the team award for the third consecutive year. Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers were never in the hunt, lacking the riders to back up McLaughlin’s lead.The Inter club series is proving a great success with numbers increasing every year. Fifty five signed on for the final event,including more than a few youngsters, and with points awarded all the way down the field, everyone can contribute to the team award.

1 Andy Buddle Poole Wheelers 7:26.2
2 Harrison Fielding Poole Wheelers 7:28.1
3 Simon McLaughlin Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 7:28.5
4 James Horton Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 7:43.3
5 Ryan Hasler Poole Wheelers (day) 7:50.8
6 Ben Davis CC Weymouth 7:58.1
7 Ian Cardy CC Weymouth 8:03.8
8 John Vinson Poole Wheelers 8:04.8
9 Bryce Riglar CC Weymouth 8:05.3
10 John Chapman CC Weymouth 8:07.7
11 Steve Pink CC Weymouth 8:08.6
12 Greg Parker CC Weymouth 8:10.0
13 Martin Kumm Poole Wheelers 8:19.6
14 Jordan Wade VC St Raphael 8:22.0
15 Andrew Graham Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 8:23.1
16 Darren Matthews CC Weymouth 8:27.6
17 Andrew Leach Mud Sweat N Gears 8:29.8
18 William Clark Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 8:33.2
19 Martin Aldridge Poole Wheelers 8:38.1
20 Nick Best Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 8:47.0
21 Steven Pye Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 8:49.8
22 Terry Belbin Poole Wheelers 8:51.3
23 Callum Charlton Unattached 9:00.4
24 James Berry Poole Wheelers 9:01.3
25 Andrew Jardine Poole Wheelers (day) 9:16.2
26 Ryan Weston Poole Wheelers 9:18.8
27 Jeremy Guy CC Weymouth 9:19.2
28 John Rivett Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 9:20.2
29 Craig Weston Poole Wheelers 9:26.9
30 Mark Valentine Poole Wheelers 9:27.2
31 Dave Gardner Poole Wheelers 9:28.2
32 Chris Ormensher Bournemouth Arrow CC 9:30.4
33 Heidi Gould CC Weymouth 9:36.5
34 Mark Singleton Poole Wheelers (day) 9:39:2
35 Les Pick Poole Wheelers 9:41.4
36 William Wilson CC Weymouth 9:56.1
37 Gary Tuskin Poole Wheelers 9:58.1
38 Cliff Free Poole Wheelers 9:58.4
39 Rob Haycock Bournemouth Arrow CC 10:05.5
40 Alistair Fielding Poole Wheelers 10:14.9
41 Andrew Jackson CC Weymouth 10:16.4
42 Philip Clive CC Weymouth 10:17.9
43 Lee Marsden Poole Wheelers 10:33.2
44 Andrew Preston CC Weymouth 10:35.2
45 Howard Pankhurst Poole Wheelers 10:37.2
46 Jamie Haycock Bournemouth Arrow CC 10:44.5
47 Stuart Carrington CC Weymouth 10:51.6
48 Jonathan Terry Poole Wheelers 10:57.4
49 Sandra Charlton Unattached
50 Colin Deuchars CC Weymouth 11:04.9
51 Luke Dighton Poole Wheelers 11:15.5
52 Brian Sands CC Weymouth 11:24.4
53 Jack Ormensher Bournemouth Arrow CC 12:22.0
54 Eve Jefferies Poole Wheelers 12:34.1
55 Colin Price Poole Wheelers 12:49.8
56 Richard Gould CC Weymouth 12:52.4
1 CC Weymouth 1834
2 Poole Wheelers 1812
3 Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 759
4 - Bournemouth Arrow CC 221

No comments:

Post a Comment