Saturday 26 November 2011

Local Cycling News

Mike Cotty (Wheelbase/Cannondale) had to settle for second place in round 6 of the Wessex Cyclo-Cross league. British number 2, Jody Crawforth (Hargroves Cycles) made fast work of the grass track course at the Thruxton Motor racing circuit in Hampshire. Cotty, however, extended his lead in the series and with Crawforth unlikely to ride enough rounds, is the man to beat. Round 8 takes place this Sunday in Reading. Ryan Hodgkyns, Jordan Wade (Poole Wheelers) & Simon Meadwell (BJW) were also in action

Next year's weekly Track League Competition leading up to the Olympics will see an enormous boost in the profile of track cycling and, with it, an increased use of Bournemouth Cycling Centre's track. During 2011 an initial group of 8 volunteers came forward and were trained by British Cycling to be L2 Track Coaches. However more volunteers are needed.

Alan McRae of BCC says "The local cycling community has benefited already from the last intake of coaches and to continue this growth we urgently need additional resource to come forward now. This would give us time to kick start their training so they can be operational next summer. Participation in our sport relies on volunteers and I would urge all those who would like to give something back to step forward now."

To register an interest please contact by December 11th.

Justin Oakley

Local cycling clubs have been busy with their annual prize presentations. As well as the racing stars winning awards, backroom members have also been honoured.

Local professional, Daniel Lloyd was guest of honour at the Poole Wheelers dinner at Broadstone golf Club. Lloyd presented awards to Dave Marjoram “Club person of the Year” and club champion Gary Dighton. Marjoram has been involved with the local cycling scene since the sixties and enjoyed a successful racing career.
Dave "Marg" & Dan Lloyd
Best Novice Harrison Fielding

Best Improver
Neil Pinch
Peter Bennett Touring Trophy Paul Dytham who completed Paris-Brest-Paris this year
Hill Climb Trophy
Gary Dighton
Handicap 10 League Steve Birtwistle
Handicap Trophy Neil Pinch
Veterans BAR av speed 27.106mph Gary Dighton
Rothwell Trophy Gary Dighton
Junior Track Champion Ryan Weston
Juvenile Track Champion Rebecca Hurst
Snior Track Champion (winner of the
Herne Hill Picture in memory of Rob Jefferies) Gordon Skillen
Ladies Champion Judith Martin
Mike Malins Trophy Gary Dighton
Senior Road Race Gordon Skillen
Jvenile Cyclo Cross Ryan Hodgkins
Senior Cyclo Cross John Burrows
Junior Road Race Jordan Wade
junior Cyclo cross Jordan Wade
Senior champion at 10, 25, 50 and 100
Miles (av speed 24.390mph) Gary Tuskin

Top time triallist and Cycling author, Adam Topham was the guest of Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers. Topham presented the “Services to the Club award” to long standing member Bill Voller who works tirelessly behind the scenes. Nick Spencer won the clubs “Best all Rounder title”
Novice Simon Meadwell
Hill Climb Simon McLaughlin
Vets BBAR James Fuller
Ladies Champ Lisa North
Boyson cup Dave Pickering
Messer Shield Cliff Rowe
Most Improved Rider Jon Clemas

This weekend saw the first of CC Weymouth's reliability rides followed by
the club AGM and presentation. Steve Pink writes.... 25+ hardy souls turned up on a real "PeaSouper" of a morning for the 34 mile trek around West Dorset taking in a couple of our tougher climbs, dodging multiple potholes, muddy roads "don'tlick your lips, that might not be mud" and for most the first run for their trusty winter hacks. Numbers for the ride were slightly down on
expectations mainly due to the Southern wide pour visibility that even
closed Heathrow for the day. However for those who chose to ride everyone
came back happy and bursting with enthusiasm for their winter training

After the ride everyone headed for the local patisserie for a spot of
lunch, an eloquently short AGM and the annual prize giving. It is a measure
of the clubs character that the biggest applause was saved for Clubman of
the year Justin Oakley.(TOP PIC) Justin has been unable to ride this last year or so due to ill health, yet he has still turned up and been our time keeper more often than every other club member put together. Without him we wouldn't be
the club we are. The award is nothing more than he deserves and alongside
being given lifetime honorary membership of CC Weymouth the club hopes it
has shown it appreciation. Justin's health is now recovering and we look
forward to seeing him back racing on two wheels again soon! Along with the
awards winners there was also a host of medals for achieving club standards
and it seems that everyone has got faster this year, a sign of the
increased competition perhaps? Roll on 2012.

Full list of winners:

Time Trial champion: John Chapman
Vets TT champion: John Chapman
Ladies TT champion: Heidi Gould
Junior TT champion: Bryce Riglar
Road Race champion: Bryce Riglar
Club Hill Climb champion: Paddy Dunn
Clubman of the Year: Justin Oakley
Most improved rider: Matt Merrit
Best Newcomer: Steven Pink

And of course the club's award for winning the Interclub Hill Climb trophy!

A Forest View, Bob Joliffe writes....

NATIONAL 100-mile time trial bronze medallist Steve Whitewick was guest of honour at New Forest Cycling Club’s annual dinner and prize presentation at Lyndhurst.Utag-Yamaha rider Steve, from Totton, gave an inspirational talk on how he started bike racing 10 years ago after a health scare in his early forties and by dint of hard work reached the high standard which saw him clock a dozen 30mph-plus 19-minute ten milers this year alone.

New Forest CC’s Club Champion this year is John Heffernan who was presented with the Cooke Cup. He also won the Broomfield Bowl for fastest club 25, the Thoresby Cooke Cup for short distance best all-rounder, the Thorney Hill series and is the club’s most improved rider of the season.Other award winners include: Colin Humm (first in division one of the 10-mile series), Geri Robinson (1st div 2, 10 series), Konnor Bracher-Walsh (1st div 3, 10 series), Terry Jefferies (fastest over 55-yr-old in 10 series), Carolyn Weaver (1st woman, 10 series).Terry Jefferies also won the Wareham Cup for fastest club 50, the Marsh Shield for club best all-rounder, and the awards for the veterans’ best all-rounder and short distance all-rounder.Colin Humm took the Keith Mitchell Shield for fastest forest circuit, Morgan Williams was road champion and Martyn Dymond cyclo-cross champion; Dan Mitchell won the Handicap Cup and Tim Barry the Hincheslea Cup for club person of the year for his work on the website.Totton schoolboy Konnor Bracher-Walsh won the Drayton Cup for junior best all-rounder and the Jonathan Bottomley Cup for fastest junior in a club 25-mile.

Hugo Walters (15), who finished his season on a high note taking fourth in a circuit race in Portsmouth, received a special award for his efforts on the track and in circuit races in addition to collecting the Knightwood Cup for junior champion and the Pope Cup for winning the hill climb.A total of 73 members and guests enjoyed the celebrations at the Crown Hotel


No comments:

Post a Comment