Sunday 17 July 2011

National Masters Road Race Championships 30-34 & 35-39

Driving rain and strong winds made for a tough race at Thruxton, nr Andover and there were few complaints when the race was reduced from 32 laps to 28. The original course at Southwick, Hants, had been lost to roadwork’s, so the Championships were switched to the former R A F base.

The rain eased and the sun occaisionally shone but the wind continued to blow across the motor racing circuit and the long drag up to the chicane and through the start/finish area saw riders struggling to hold the wheel. Rowan Horner (VC ST Raphael/Waites Contracts) was very active in the early stages of this 70 mile race. Riding aggressively as always Horner got away in several moves but missed the one that mattered.

A group of seven moved off the front of the race with 8 laps of the 2.4 mile circuit remaining. Jason White(Cycle Pemier), Grant Bayton(Willier/Goselfdrive),Ian Knight(Team Corley Cycles),Richard Wood (Team Milton Keynes),John Wager(Fet-Colbournes RT),James Smith(PrimalEurope/rutrainingtoday/bikechain/ricci)) & Nick Hutchings (GS Grupetto) would contest the finale!
Winning Break!

Despite only holding a gap of 20 seconds, they were never challenged as the chasing groups behind fractured. The seven were still together as they entered the finishing straight but the pure speed of sprinter, Jason White saw him home. Grant Bayton salvaged second with Ian Knight in 3rd as gaps appeared in the wheels.

As the new champion caught his breath he spoke about the race “It was very, very windy and very hard coming up the finishing straight, it was splitting every lap and it was fast round the back. There were moves all day, we were always working in the break, when its flat people always work hard behind you. It was dodgy on the corners to start with because of the rain, very slippery. (of the break) There were a couple of strong lads in there, you know they are going to make a move but you have to go with them,i didn't want to let anyone get away, i think if anyone had got a few yards, everyone would have sat up as it was so hard to close the gaps. I was confident in the sprint, I’m a bit of an all-rounder but I can kick a bit, I’m chuffed”

Of the original break of seven, six were from the 35-39 age group, the lucky “youngster” was Nic Hutchings (GS Grupetto) all he had to do was hang on to take the title.

“I think I lucked out getting in the lead break being the only one from my age group, I buried myself trying to keep it away, I was suffering like a dog. I am delighted, form has not been great and I have been at a wedding all weekend, so I though I was in for a bit of a pounding” said the new 30-34 age group champion.

Marianne Britten (VC ST Raphael/Waites Contracts) took the ladies 30-39 title. The small field stayed together for whole of the 40 mile race. Britten led out the sprint and Cara Chesworth (Ford viored racing) had no answer.

Britten’s team mate Adele Tyson-Bloor looked strong but punctured on the last lap and rolled in last. " I really should put my arms up when i cross the line" laughed Marianne. "I was'nt sure where Cara was and if i had enough of a gap"

Men 30-34 (80 miles):
1 Nick Hutchings (GS Gruppetto) 3-40-00
2 Graeme Sumner (GB Fire Service)
3 Richard Cartland (Team Corley Cycles)
4 Richard Mardle (Felt Colbornes)
5 Robert King (AW Cycles)
6 Dean Shannon (Twenty 3C-Orbea)

Men 35-39 (80 miles):
1 Jason White (Cycle Premier-Metaltek) 3-40-00
2 Grant Bayton (Wiler)
3 Ian Knight (Team Corley Cycles)
4 Richard Wood (Team Milton Keynes)
5 John Wager (Felt Colbornes)
6 James Smith (Primal Europe)

Women 30-39 (40 miles):
1 Marianne Britten (VC St Raphael)
2 Cara Chesworth (For Viored Brookvex Racing) @ 4sec
3 Lisa Wood (South Perth CC)
4 Helen McKay (Look Mum No Hands)
5 Adele Tyson-Bloor (VC St Raphael)

No comments:

Post a Comment