Thursday 10 March 2011

Bournemouth Daily Echo Cyclesport 11/03/11

• At a celebration lunch at Bournemouth's Hotel Collingwood, club treasurer Anne Stevens presented Steve Staniland with a donation of £1000 from the Bournemouth Arrow Cycling Club to the new Bournemouth Cycling Centre. Currently under construction at Slades Farm and due to open in May, the Centre will provide an outdoor cycle track for use by both the community and competitive cyclists and will host a variety of activities, ranging from taster sessions, instruction and coaching for beginners and advanced riders and weekly competition. On behalf of the Centre, Staniland is assembling a fleet of 21 hire bikes together with a full set of equipment to run coaching sessions and competition, Steve said, "With the track nearing completion, the pressure is on to raise money and get it spent quickly so we are sufficiently equipped on the opening day. With this generous donation we are nearly there and need only one final fund raising push. Other cycling organisations who have already made donations are the Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers, CTC Bournemouth, Dorset Cycling Development Group and the New Forest CC.
• Gary Dighton (Poole WH) was a clear winner of the clubs hilly time trial on the Lulworth circuit. Recording a time of 42.13 for the testing 12 mile course, Dighton beat club champion Terry Icke, 43.47, into second place, with Richard Davidson 3 minutes adrift in third place. Meanwhile Dave Pickering (Bournemouth Jubilee) took his first win of the season in the club Mountain bike 10, Pickering’s time of 27.15 was well clear of Rupert Silman,29.10, in second. Former triathlete, Nick Spencer, riding a road bike set the fastest time with 25.37.. Paul Jones (BJW) was disappointed to finish in 19th place, at the East Surrey hardriders, 30 mile time trial, Jones time of 1.15.43 was nearly 10 minutes slower than winner, Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport).
• The World Para-Cycling track championships take place this weekend at Montichiarri, Italy. Darren Kenny OBE from Verwood will be out to defend his titles in the individual pursuit, 1 KM Time Trial and the mens team sprint.

No comments:

Post a Comment