Thursday 25 July 2019

...a3crg "Rapido 15" Report/Results

The ...a3crg Rapido 15m TT

Wednesday evening & the temperature was around 29℃ on the start line for the third of ...a3crg's 15 mile time trials this season writes Dave Collard-Berry.... There was however quite a nice refreshing breeze & many of the riders lining up felt this was going to be a fast night.

Back in June Chris Fennell & Emma Lewis broke the solo records while Ian Greenstreet & Rachael Elliot broke the mixed Tandem record with a 28:01, the tandem duo were riding again, could they get rid of those two odd second? But Chris Fennell's 27:33 record was under attack from none other than Marcin Bialoblocki who brought along for company a rather strong NOPINZ team of Conrad Moss & Lee Frost. But they were not the only team to have the record in their sights, apart from the Tornado Road CT who were the only team from the Bournemouth area to make the trip, Didcot Phoenix CC had their eye on the team record & their combined finishing would have beaten the team record. Henry Latimer was caught by Bialoblocki in the last stretch ruling out a record claim. The NOPINZ team posted 01:24:05 knocking around three minutes off the record.

In the individual results the 2018 National Champion Bialoblocki who won his title on these roads passed the timekeepers at 26:35, in ten miles time that would have been a 17:44, & this is on the rolling A3 course. Of the local South DC riders Howard Bailey (Blazing Saddles) came in at 12th position 29:30 setting a new South DC riders record inching out Greg Parker (Estrella Bikes) seventeen seconds behind. Between Bailey & Parker was Junior rider Tom Day (Giant CC Halo Films) stopping the clock at 29:31.

As for the women's event, Faye Faber the Isle of Wight made it a NOPINZ double with her 31:55, thirty three seconds ahead of the promoting teams Angela Carpenter. The consolation for Carpenter was that she was able to take 10 seconds off the South DC rider's record held since 2010 by Julia Shaw & also post another VTTA age National record. Along with her team-mates Kirsty McSeveney, Sarah Matthews they were also able to lower their South DC Team record. The girl to watch out for this season is Courtney Edmonds (Bike Jockey CC) who has been improving all season & last night was not an exception.

But what of the dynamic Tandem Duo, Rachael Elliott & Ian Greenstreet, did they get rid of those odd two seconds, would they dip below "28"? Greenstreet said as they passed the three mile "to go sign" it was a bit touch & go, then the last mile appeared to go on & on, but they passed the timekeepers at 27:55 . . . . . . . sorted, job done.

There were no complaints about the heat at the HQ after the event as most of the riders were talking about "PB's", so in a nutshell the evening could only be described as a record temperature & three National records!

Results…a3crg Summer Time Trials 2019
P884b/15 (A3) Longmoor ~ Weds 24th July 2019 - Event 11
Rapido Tandem 15
1 Rachael Elliott Newbury RC WV 00:27:55
Ian Greenstreet AeroCoach Vet
Men's Rapido 15

1 Marcin Bialoblocki NOPINZ Sen 00:26:35
2 Daniel Northover Finsbury Park CC Vet 00:27:57
3 Mark Smith Crawley Wheelers Vet 00:28:37
4 Conrad Moss NOPINZ Vet 00:28:43
5 Lee Frost NOPINZ Sen 00:28:47
6 Chris McNamara Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT Vet 00:28:48
7 Henry Latimer Didcot Phoenix CC Sen 00:28:49
8 Adam Bidwell Kingston Wheelers CC Vet 00:28:52
9 Chris Loake AeroCoach Sen 00:28:59
10 Richard Gildea Didcot Phoenix CC Sen 00:29:04
11 Nick Dwyer Lewes Wanderers CC Vet 00:29:23
12 Howard Bayley Blazing Saddles Vet 00:29:30
13 Thomas Day Giant CC Halo Films Jun 00:29:31
14 Greg Parker Estrella Bikes Vet 00:29:47
15 Kevin Nelson Crawley Wheelers Sen 00:29:49
16 Andrew Langdown Blazing Saddles Vet 00:30:03
17 Harri James Didcot Phoenix CC Sen 00:30:05
18 Neil Mackley …a3crg Vet 00:30:06
19 Simon Berogna Velo Club St Raphael Vet 00:30:16
20 Mark Ellis Team Milton Keynes Vet 00:30:36
21 James Fawcett …a3crg Vet 00:30:37
22 Adrian Blacker C and N Cycles RT Vet 00:30:39
23 Jon Hughes VC Godalming & Haslemere Vet 00:30:40
24 Nic Stevenson Westerley CC Sen 00:30:45
25 Rhys Thomas Southampton University RC Sen 00:30:46
26 Steve Legg …a3crg Vet 00:30:48
27 Kevin Baker Andover Wheelers Sen 00:30:49
28 Andrew Thomas …a3crg Sen 00:30:55
29 Iain Boardman Dulwich Paragon CC Vet 00:31:00
30 Paul Haywood Epsom Cycling Club Vet 00:31:16
31 Steven Cottington Bath CC Vet 00:31:40
32 Paul Deen Epsom Cycling Club Vet 00:31:42
33 Shaun Smart Southdown Velo Vet 00:31:43
34 Chris Lord Brighton Excelsior CC Vet 00:31:51
35 Paul Thompson Epsom Cycling Club Vet 00:31:58
36 Nigel Sign Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 00:32:02
37 David Wells Petersfield Tri Club Vet 00:32:05
38 Perry Lee Southdown Velo Vet 00:32:20
39 Richard Moore VC Godalming & Haslemere Vet 00:32:23
40 Gary Ferrett Hampshire Road Club Vet 00:33:01
41 Richard Wyeth Tornado Road CC Vet 00:33:02
42 Joshua Lahiri Portsdown Hill CC Sen 00:33:07
43 Gavin Hinxman DRAG2ZERO (Trike) Vet 00:33:13
44 Gary Pamment 3T-Racing Vet 00:33:14
45 Michael Stevens Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 00:33:17
46 Robert Charles Blazing Saddles Vet 00:33:31
47 Jerry Bromyard …a3crg Vet 00:33:45
48 John Mottershead Portsmouth North End CC Vet 00:33:54
49 Matthew Butler Charlotteville CC Sen 00:34:40
50 Derek Dowden Hampshire Road Club Vet 00:34:47
51 Steve Skinner Bognor Regis CC Vet 00:34:48
52 Mike O'Gorman Worthing Excelsior CC Vet 00:34:52
53 Andrew Phipps Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA Vet 00:34:53
54 Mike Garner …a3crg Vet 00:35:35
55 John Isard Hampshire Road Club Vet 00:35:40
56 Adrian Watkins Tornado Road CC Vet 00:35:57
57 Ian Hayden Tornado Road CC Vet 00:36:18
58 Simon Craig-McFeely …a3crg Vet 00:36:34
59 Geoff Newman Farnham Road Club Vet 00:38:06
60 Christopher Rosam Epsom Cycling Club Vet 00:38:45
61 Vernon Schutte Farnborough & Camberley CC Vet 00:38:50
62 Robert Jolliffe New Forest CC Vet 00:38:54
63 Peter Knipe Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 00:39:22
64 Ken Rayson …a3crg Vet 00:41:03
Rapido 15 Femmes

1 Faye Faber NOPINZ WS 00:31:55
2 Angela Carpenter …a3crg WV 00:32:28
3 Kirsty McSeveney …a3crg WS 00:33:51
4 Sarah Matthews …a3crg WV 00:34:10
5 Courtney Edmonds Bike Jockey CC WS 00:34:42
6 Anna Dwyer Lewes Wanderers CC WS 00:35:24
7 Lucy Mitchell …a3crg WV 00:35:32
8 Robyn Yates Addiscombe CC WV 00:39:04
9 Deanna Ferrett Hampshire Road Club WV 00:43:29

Team Classification

1 NOPINZ Marcin Bialoblocki, Conrad Moss, Lee Frost 01:24:05
2 Didcot Phoenix CC Henry Latimer, Richard Gildea, Harri James 01:27:58
3 …a3crg Neil Mackley, James Fawcett, Steve Legg 01:31:31
4 Blazing Saddles Howard Bayley, Andrew Langdown, Robert Charles 01:33:04
5 Epsom Cycling Club Paul Haywood, Paul Deen, Paul Thompson 01:34:56
6 …a3crg (Femmes) Angela Carpenter, Kirsty McSeveney, Sarah Matthews 01:40:29
7 Hampshire Road Club Gary Ferrett, Derek Dowden, John Isard 01:43:28
8 Fareham Wheelers CC Nigel Sign, Michael Stevens, Peter Knipe 01:44:41
9 Tornado Road CC Richard Wyeth, Adrian Watkins, Ian Hayden 01:45:17

No comments:

Post a Comment