Thursday 4 July 2019

...a3crg 25's Results

What a night! After the previous 25 mid-week 25 on the A3 got cancelled because of the rain the Women's and a Men's Middle Markers event went off very smoothly on a very clear night & the "times" got everyone talking back at the HQ. The men's Middle Markers event for riders for riders who hadn't beaten 57:00 before was won by Ben Williams of i-Team in 49:54; yes I did say "49"! Ben hasn't ridden a 25 mile event before but has done a few useful tens (he has been unable to get a sub 20 time). He has been rubbing shoulders with a few of the fast guys at 15 mile so a "52" was expected, but not a "49" on your first 25! Two minutes behind Ben was John Franklin a handy roadman from Twickenham CC in 52:01. Third place was taken by another useful roadman, Kevin Nelson from Crawley Wheelers, who recorded a time of 52:17 & led his team to the team award.

The Women's event was as startling with Jennifer George (Torelli) taking top spot with a 54:13, but just six seconds behind her was Caitlin Peters (Storey Racing) who this season is rapidly improving he time trialling skills with every pedal stroke. Angela Carpenter the VTTA 25 Champ had to settle for third place recording 54:34 but was able to lead her team mates to a new South DC women's 25 mile team record with Kirsty McSeveney taking almost two minutes of her pb with a 55:40 Sarah Matthews being the third counter with 58:08. Another rider having their first 25 was Junior Freya Richardson (Hargroves RT) who broke the hour at her first attempt, just, 59:59, there are plenty of riders who would be happy with that time on their first 25.

Because the women's & men's middle markers event was a bit slow in filling before the closing date, an extra event was added, an overflow & reserves. This was spotted by a few keen eyed riders but it tuned into a small affair as the middle markers filled on closing date. However with twelve accepted entries (seven being reserves) they all set great times and filled the vacant slots in the field with Liam Maybank winning in 48:02. It proved to be an interesting exercise & may be tried again.
Results…a3crg Summer Time Trials 2019

Course P884b/25 (A3) Longmoor ~ Wednesday 3rd July 2019
Women's(BBAR), Men's Middle Markers, Tandem & Men's Overflow
Flying Tandem Twenty-Five
Pos Rider Team/Squadra/Club Cat Actual
1 Rachel Przybylski Charlotteville CC WS 00:52:01
1 Jon Saunders Charlotteville CC Sen
"Women's Summer 25 (BBAR) Result"

1 Jennifer George Torelli WS 00:54:13
2 Caitlin Peters Storey Racing WJ 00:54:19
3 Angela Carpenter …a3crg WV 00:54:34
4 Kirsty McSeveney …a3crg WS 00:55:40
5 Sarah Matthews …a3crg WV 00:58:08
6 Lara Taylor VC Godalming & Haslemere WV 00:58:30
7 Deborah Smith Southdown Velo WV 00:59:52
8 Marianne Holt Team Bottrill WS 00:59:54
9 Freya Richardson Hargroves Montezuma RT WJ 00:59:59
10 Lucy Mitchell …a3crg WV 01:00:05
11 Anna Dwyer Lewes Wanderers CC WS 01:00:15
12 Joy Payne Amersham Road Cycling Club WV 01:01:19
13 Ali Walters VC Godalming & Haslemere WV 01:02:22
14 Eva Nyirenda …a3crg WS 01:02:59
15 Ali Ford GS Vecchi WV 01:05:59
16 Rachael Lamont Hampshire Road Club WV 01:06:51
17 Joanna Wells Hounslow & District Wheelers WV 01:06:56
18 Jill Bartlett Hounslow & District Wheelers WV 01:08:39
Team Classification

1 …a3crg Angela Carpenter, Kirsty McSeveney, Sarah Matthews 02:48:22
"Men's Middle Markers Scratch Result"

1 Ben Williams i-team Cyclists Club Esp 00:49:54
2 John Franklin Twickenham CC Sen 00:52:01
3 Kevin Nelson Crawley Wheelers Sen 00:52:17
4 Andrew Lindsay Pure Motion Cycles Sen 00:55:04
5 Nick Bunyard Westbury Wheelers Sen 00:55:10
6 James Stone Brighton Excelsior CC Vet 00:55:35
7 Martin Beale Velo Club St Raphael Vet 00:56:01
8 James Cheeseman N+1 - Lindfield Coffee Works Sen 00:56:05
9 Michael Stevens Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 00:56:16
10 Iain Cotton Alton CC Vet 00:58:03
11 John McGlashan Redmon CC Vet 00:58:43
12 Toby Clay Petersfield Tri Club Vet 00:58:44
13 Andrew Phipps Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA Vet 00:58:47
14 Conor Boyle Woking Cycle Club Vet 00:58:51
15 Chris Woods Crawley Wheelers Sen 00:59:12
16 Russell Thorne-Jones Crawley Wheelers Vet 00:59:15
17 Colin Barton Worthing Excelsior CC Vet 00:59:23
18 Mike Boyce …a3crg Vet 00:59:27
19 Oliver Berney Royal Sutton CC Vet 00:59:33
20 Steve Skinner Bognor Regis CC Vet 00:59:38
21 Daniel Sharp Charlotteville CC Vet 00:59:46
22 John Isard Hampshire Road Club Vet 00:59:55
23 Mike Garner …a3crg Vet 01:00:23
24 Alan Doney Portsmouth Triathletes Vet 01:00:32
25 Jonathan Lacey Southdown Velo Vet 01:00:45
26 Michael Gowan Festival Road Club Vet 01:01:35
27 Paul Townsley Worthing Excelsior CC Vet 01:01:44
28 Russell Hicks Oxted CC Vet 01:02:05
29 Terry Belbin Poole Wheelers Vet 01:03:24
30 Simon Craig-McFeely …a3crg Vet 01:03:34
31 Chris Jolliffe Crawley Wheelers Vet 01:03:56
32 Mike Noad Bayside Tri Club Vet 01:04:15
33 Robert Oliver Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 01:04:23
34 Robert Jolliffe New Forest CC Vet 01:06:47
35 Peter Knipe Fareham Wheelers CC Vet 01:07:26
36 Paul Beck Hampshire Road Club Vet 01:08:37
37 Martin Balk 3C Cyclexperience Vet 01:10:12
38 Ken Rayson …a3crg Vet 01:10:36
Team Classification
Pos Team Counting Riders Time
1 Crawley Wheelers Kevin Nelson, Chris Woods, Russell Thorne-Jones 02:50:44
Men's Overflow & Reserves 25

1 Liam Maybank Twickenham CC Vet 00:48:02
2 Mark Smith Crawley Wheelers Vet 00:48:14
3 Kevin Tye VeloRefined Aerosmiths Vet 00:48:22
4 Howard Bayley Blazing Saddles Vet 00:49:52
5 Andrew Thomas …a3crg Sen 00:51:01
6 Andrew Langdown Blazing Saddles Vet 00:51:06
7 Neil Mackley …a3crg Vet 00:51:20
8 Steve Legg …a3crg Vet 00:52:01
9 Mark Bashford East Grinstead CC Sen 00:52:27
10 Nick Dwyer Lewes Wanderers CC Vet 00:52:45
Team Classification

1 …a3crg Andrew Thomas, Neil Mackley, Steve Legg 2:34:22

Thanks to Dave Collard-Berry

No comments:

Post a Comment