Sunday 5 May 2019

Hunt Wins Forest Test: Circuit of the New Forest TT Report/Results

Rich Hunt (Army Cycling) won the Circuit of the New Forest time trial, clocking 1:14:30 on a bright, breezy but cold morning in Hampshire. The 47 year old from Andover prefers the non-standard rural courses and dismissed the conditions, claiming the cold made him “ride harder” and the wind made him “get more aero”.
Nick Tarmey (VC Venta) started 1 minute ahead of Hunt, although not passed in the race, Hunt rode by on the trip back to the HQ and Tarmey knew he had lost it, 1:15:09 on the result board confirming it. Tarmey was held up by traffic on the final roundabout losing time but Hunt was forced to unclip to avoid New Forest ponies at Beulieu Motor museum, leveling things up “I guess over thirty two miles everyone will gain a bit and lose a bit” reflected Tarmey as he went through his post race stretching routine at the village hall.
Andy Rivett (VC St Raphael/Waites Contracts) snatched third spot, just 6 seconds ahead of teammate Simon Berogna, Rivett agreed with most that it was hard to get going in the cold, although his warm up protocol, consisting of “10 minutes standing in the sunshine before going to the start” had him honestly summarising “I should take it more seriously
Hard working Naomi Shinkins (Bournemouth Cycleworks), won the womans event with a smooth 1:30:03, mixing triathlon and time trialing, a day off from training is a luxury for Shinkins. The sporting 32 mile test starting at New Milton heads east to Lymington, then on across the exposed Beulieu Heath to Lyndhurst before turning south onto the A35 and home. Something of a local classic, the Circuit of the New Forest has struggled to attract entries in the last few seasons but the New Forest CC are reluctant to stop promoting the event, knowing that once it is gone it will never come back.

1 Charles Mitchell...a3crg 01:14:29
Dominic Irvine ...a3crg

1 Rich Hunt Army Cycling 01:14:30
2 Nick Tarmey Velo Club Venta 01:15:09
3 Andrew Rivett Velo Club St Raphael 01:17:12
4 Simon Berogna Velo Club St Raphael 01:17:18
5 Aron Kelly New Forest CC 01:18:13
6 Darren Orchard Mud Sweat N Gears CC 01:18:33
7 Julian Lockwood Primera-Teamjobs 01:19:19
8 Dave Dent GS Stella 01:19:33
9 Tom Stocker Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 01:19:49
10 James Horton Velo Club St Raphael 01:20:23
11 Richard Porter CC Weymouth 01:20:50
12 Phil Brown trainSharp 01:22:33
13 Ray Claridge New Forest CC 01:22:51
14 Cliff Rowe Bournemouth Jubilee Whs 01:24:01
15 Lyndon Thompson Colten Care 01:24:22
16 Stuart Peckham New Forest CC 01:25:17
17 Drew Hosie ...a3crg 01:25:21
18 Jerry Bromyard...a3crg 01:27:18
19 Michael Akers Julian Porter Cycling 01:27:45
20 Martin Beale Velo Club St Raphael 01:28:06
21 Stewart Ward New Forest CC 01:28:33
22 Naomi Shinkins Bournemouth Cycleworks 01:30:03
23 Patrick Brennan ...a3crg 01:31:21
24 Emma Needham Poole Whs 01:32:30
25 Mark HardwickBournemouth Arrow CC 01:33:02
26 Stephen Skinner Velo Club St Raphael 01:35:40
27 Sien Van Der University of Southampton RC 01:37:37
28 Michelle Walter Bournemouth Arrow CC 01:39:31
29 Sonia Laurie New Forest CC 01:39:48
30 James Goward Farnborough & Camberley CC DNF
31 Mike Anderson Club Cycliste Moncontourais DNS
32 Darren Lyons Velo Club Venta DNS
33 Terry Belbin Poole Whs DNS
34 Lizzy Stocker IRIS Race Team DNS
35 Andrew HumphreyPoole Whs DNS
36 Andy Smith Velo Club St Raphael DNS

1 comment: