Monday, 26 August 2013

New Forest News!

ON-FORM Ben Boardman got within 28 seconds of beating a long-standing New Forest Cycling Club 50-mile time trial record when he clocked a personal best 1-53-31 in the a3crg event near Petersfield on Bank Holiday Monday. Bob Jolliffe reports.......
Boardman, who injured a knee which meant an enforced rest of more than a week, “blew” with 10 miles to go.
“That goes down as one of my least enjoyable time trials,” he said
“I felt pretty comfortable and was well on track for a sub 1-53 if not 52 all the way up to mile 40.
“That's when I started seeing stars and far too much flashing for my liking. It's fair to say I didn't exactly enjoy fighting with fainting in the last 10 miles.
“My heart rate had dropped a good 15 beats and it was when I tried standing up to pedal at the turn point that I realised I was well and truly cooked.
“After passing my minute man Gary Allan at about mile 10 all I could think in those last 10 miles was to try and not let him come back past me.”
In fact GA Cycles’ Allan did pass Boardman and finished with 1-54-14 for 13th place.
“I clearly still have a few things to learn about pacing a 50,” said Boardman, who finished 11th from 68.
The club record still to beat is 1-53-08 set in 1996 by Tony Green, now a GA Cycles’ rider.
Boardman’s clubmate Stuart Peckham returned home to New Milton celebrating achieving his aim of beating two hours, just making his target by two seconds.
Ringwood’s James Gilfillan (VeloRefined/Aerosmiths) recorded a rapid 1-42-09 to win the event from Team Pedal Revolution’s Nik Bowdler (1-44-25) and Northover Veterans’ Jon Wynn (1-44-34).
Sotonia CC’s John Dudley finished with 2-02-08 to his credit and Crabwood CC veteran Dave England clocked a fine 2-08-32.

Gilfillan second in Round Six, while Shaw wins

Two days previously Gilfillan finished second in Round Six of the Cycling Time Trials series of circuit races near Reading, clocking 1-13-05 for two laps of the 15-mile course. Winner was Danny Axford(Arctic/SRAM RT) with 1-12-50.
Bramshaw’s Julia Shaw (drag2zero) won the one lap women’s race in 40-19 from Rebecca Slack (Look Mum No Hands) with 40-52.

Whitewick sets new course record
Gilfillan’s teammate, Totton’s Steve Whitewick powered around New Forest CC’s seven-mile Bull Hill-East End-East Boldre circuit in a course record 14min 57sec to win the club’s final evening event of the season.
But New Forest’s Nick O’Hara was not too far off Whitewick’s super-fast pace with 15-19 for second place.
GA Cycles’ Ray Claridge took third with 16-06 and New Forest’s John Heffernan, riding his first time trial of the year, was fourth with 16-10.
Steven Barnes (GAC) took fifth with 16-35 from Antelope RT’s Steve Woods’ 16-44 and New Forest CC’s Stuart Peckham with 16-52.
Others (NFCC unless stated): Adrian Jenkins (GA Cycles) 16-51, Matt Macdonald (Hargroves Cycles) 17-03, Adam Curtis (Primera Sport) 17-36, Rob Brinsdon 17-40, Tom Reid (juvenile) 17-45, Stewart Ward 17-52, Phil Underwood 18-31, Richard Parker 18-45, Konnor Bracher-Walsh 18-53, Tom Hobbs (Come and Try It) 19-25, Chris Shimman 19-37, Jason Brattle (Primera) 19-57, Chris Mills 19-47, Peter Hawker and Chris Jolliffe tied with 20-11, Alexandra Burlinson 21-01, Bob Jolliffe 21-36, Paula Earley (Come and Try It) 23-29.
Bulstrode/Bryson combo triumph
Peter Hansford Racing pair Harry Bulstrode and Andy Bryson set a new course record for Antelope RT’s The League International two-up team time trial championship course between Timsbury, Braishfield and Kings Somborne on Saturday.
Conditions were blowy, but the forecast rain held off.
As well as Bulstrode and Bryson, who clocked a magnificent 27-36 for the 20 hilly kilometres, another three teams beat 29 minutes: Southampton University RT’s Thomas Nixon and Tom Key (28-20), Primera Sport’s Ben and Lewis Keightley (28-38) and GA Cycles’ Gary Allan and Ray Claridge (28-59).
Steve Wood and Oli Emmans of Antelope RT took fifth with 29-38 while event organiser Glenn Longland and teammate Richard Blake were seventh with 30-49.
Other Southampton/Bournemouth area times: Mark Hardwick and Charlie Calvert (Bournemouth Arrow CC) 31-00, Richard Burch and Jon Legg (Sotonia) 31-43, Steve Moore (Antelope RT) and Alexander Geen (Bristol) 32-07, Colin Yeates and Dan Edwards (Sotonia) 32-30, Adrian Jenkins (GAC) and Claire Newman (Crabwood CC) 32-45, Jez Hart and Bill Ingham 33-16, Paul Richardson and Karl Gough (Zoom TC) 33-32, Robert Oliver and Peter Knipe (Fareham Whlrs) 34-20, Nick Williams (New Forest CC) and Vikki Williams (unattached) 40-36, Martin Balk and Bob Jolliffe (New Forest CC) 43-10, Barrington Day and Phil Morris (Fareham Whlrs) 47-42.

No comments:

Post a Comment