Monday 24 June 2013

New Forest News

Bob Jolliffe Reports.........
TOP honours went to Bramshaw’s Julia Shaw (www.drag2zero) as she claimed her third national women’s time trial title this season, adding the 50-mile to the 10 and 25 already bagged so far.
It is the eighth time she has taken gold at the distance since 2004.
This time the super-champ was all but two seconds short of being three minutes faster than her nearest rival Anna Turvey (Tyneside Vagabonds CC), recording 1-53-34 against Turvey’s 1-56-32. Rebecca Slack (Look Mum No Hands) took third with 1-58-13.
The following morning on the same South Wales course, Ringwood’s James Gilfillan (VeloRefined Aerosmiths) took fourth in the men’s championship 50 in a time of 1-45-48.
With favourite Michael Hutchinson a non-starter, it was down to Shaw’s teammate Matthew Bottrill to lead drag2zero to a famous one-two-three. Bottrill clocked 1-41-10 for gold, Jeff Jones 1-43-42 for silver and Mark Holton 1-44-18 for bronze. Needless to say the team award was theirs.
Forest poised for hat-trick
New Forest Cycling Club’s top squad might have been otherwise engaged but that didn’t stop the club taking the first round of two in the annual competition with Crabwood CC.
With interclub wins against Sotonia CC and Hargroves Cycles Cycling Club already under its belt, New Forest looks on course to take a hat-trick this summer.
In the first leg against Crabwood CC, first counter Stuart Peckham led Stewart Ward, Tom Butler and Mick Anglim took second, fourth and fifth places in the Crabwood-promoted 15 south of Lyndhurst.
Peckham clocked 37-32, Ward 38-42, Butler 39-39 and Anglim 40-40 to collect a total of 12 points.
Crabwood’s four best finishers were Pat Lafford, third with 39-26, Dave England (6th, 41-20), Claire Newman (7th, 42-00) and Andy Stevens (8th, 45-50) for 24 points.
The second leg, a 10-miler also south of Lyndhurst, will take place on the evening of July 9.
Fastest overall in the field of 25 was Totton’s Steve Whitewick (VeloRefined Aerosmiths) with a rapid 33-40.
Others (Crabwood CC and New Forest CC times only): Graham Lenton (NFCC) 39-50, Phil Harris (NFCC) 42-37, Phil Jones (NFCC) 42-50, Konnor Bracher-Walsh (NFCC) 43-21, Chris Mills (NFCC) 44-29, John Sanchez-Bisson (CCC) 47-47, Bob Jolliffe (NFCC) 48-41.
Fit Ben ties for win then powers to PB
Two evenings earlier New Forest’s Ben Boardman collected three championship points when he tied with Sotonia’s Kevin King in the Forest’s 25 south of Ringwood.
The pair both clocked 59-11 around two laps of the Kingston-Sopley-Bransgore circuit while GA Cycles’ Simon Barnes took third with 1-00-26 from New Forest’s Stuart Peckham with 1-01-08 which earned him two championship points.
James Bannister picked up the remaining club point with 1-01-45.
On Wednesday evening, the flying Boardman was pleased to have recorded a new “personal best” of 21-16 in the a3crg 10 at Liss.
“I was a little bit surprised really seeing as I had tired legs from the 25 the night before,” he said.
“In a way it was a little bit frustrating because had I been fresh I definitely would have been quicker. The tired legs gave out in the last three miles. Still a pb’s a pb.”
Other club 25 times (NFCC unless stated): Peter Wilson (Bournemouth Arrow CC) 1-01-56, Mark Valentine (Poole Whrs) 1-01-57, Andrew Hanley 1-03-50, Martin Plumb (Veralum CC) 1-03-57, Sacha Ring 1-04-49, Geri Robinson 1-05-14, Dan Mitchell 1-07-00, Keith Bradfield 1-07-12, Gary Plumb 1-07-51, Richard Rajski 1-08-31 (joint 1st handicap), Konnor Bracher-Walsh 1-10-01 (joint 1st handicap), Tom Butler 1-01-38, Stuart Harrison (Andover Whrs) and Martin Balk (two-up trial) 1-11-02, Phil Jones 1-11-50, Geoff Weller 1-12-22 (3rd handicap award), Adam Ball 1-14-01, Paul Shields 1-14-03, Chris Mills 1-16-03.
Wind blows at Poole
A strong wind blew away hopes of super-fast times in the Poole Wheelers’ open 10 on the Upton bypass on Sunday morning.
Nevertheless, New Forest CC’s Stuart Peckham produced a time of 23-19, his fastest at the distance this year. Veteran teammate Bob Jolliffe also clocked his best of the season so far: 28-25.
The promoting club’s Gary Dighton won with a rapid 20-27 from CC Weymouth’s Greg Parker(20-58) and Severn CC’s Matt Burden a second slower with 20-59.
Southampton area riders’ times: Ray Claridge (GA Cycles) 21-43, Simon Barnes (GA Cycles) 22-27, Stephen Wood (Antelope RT) 22-41, Colin Crocker (Sotonia CC) 25-06, Norman Harvey (Sotonia) 27-40, Chris Summers (Sotonia) 27-41.

No comments:

Post a Comment