Saturday 28 September 2013

Primera Purbeck 2 Day, Jarisch Takes Stage 1

Colton Jarisch (Felt-Colborne-Hargroves RT) won the opening 50 mile stage of the Primera Purbeck 2 day, winning an exciting uphill finish above Lulworth Cove in Dorset. Jarisch had animated the race, escaping on the third lap with Tony Kiss (Dynamic Bicycles UK/RPC). The pair got away across Bovington Heath and built a lead of 40 seconds and with the Felt-Colborne team controlling the bunch the move looked good. However the gap was down to 23 seconds at the bell and the remains of the peloton were altogether the final time through East Lulworth.The headwind descent making it difficult for the duo to stay clear. Robert Ward, John Heaton-Armstrong & Chris Spence drilled it across the heath for Jarisch and although the finale was tight the 26 year old Texan deserved the win. Unattached Hugh Knudsen grabbed second ahead of Rob ward. Knudsen had ridden an aggresive race and will be in the mix on day two. A group of nine had gone clear after the long neutralised section, only to be reeled in before the second climb of Newtown hill. The long drag up from the village of Wool took its toll on the 80 strong field with riders being dropped from the start. Jarisch will be well supported on stage two and it seems only some brave, attacking riding can stop the Felt-Colborne boys!
“It was tough, a pretty windy exposed course, I was away in a little two man break, we got away on the fast part of the course surprisingly, we got some time bonuses but we got caught after the descent. My team were really organised, we kept it all together. My team did it they rode perfectly.”
"A windy circuit, the winding roads strung it out good, the attacks were going on the hill, of course, we agreed to lead Colton out, I got boxed in a way back but managed to work my way back"
1 Colton Jarisch – 25 secs bonus
2 Hugh Knudsen - 10 secs bonus
3 Rob Ward - 5 secs bonus
4 James Plumb - 2 secs bonus
5 Edwardo Martinez Llarena - 5secs bonus
6 George Fowler - 3 secs bonus
7 Mike Ward
8 Danny Axford
9 Mike Mottram
10 Ian Palmer
11 Joe Barry
12 Calum Croft
13 Tony Kiss - 7 secs bonus
14 Scott Gurnett
15 Jordan Frampton
16 Sean Frost
17 Matt Osbourne
18 Alex Wilson
19 Nick Watson
20 James Cooper
21 Sam Gardner
22 Lewis Keightly
23 Chris Zappala
24 Nick Beale
25 Jack Stanton Warren
26 Cameron Judson ALL SAME TIME

1st Colton Jarisch 2.12.57
2nd Hugh Knudsen +15 secs
3rd Tony Kiss +18 secs
4th Rob Ward +20secs
5th Eduardo Martinez LLarena +20 secs
6th George Fowler +22secs
7th James Plumb + 23 secs
8th Mike Ward +25secs
9th Danny Axford +25 secs
10th Mike Mottram +25 secs
11th+ BUNCH ALL SAME TIME +25secs

Top 3 Third Cats
1 Eduardo Martinez LLarena
2 George Fowler +2secs
3 Alex Wilson +5secs

Top 3 Fourth Cats
1 James Frampton
2 James Horton st
3 Lewis Keightly st

All images ©EAMONN DEANE All rights reserved

No comments:

Post a Comment