Wednesday 11 May 2016

New Forest CC Club 25 10/05/16 Report/Results

Andrews and Buck battle to the end writes Andrew Hanley...........
Tuesday night saw the first round of the New Forest Cycling Club Championship season over the longer distances take place on the P164/25 course. The course loops round from Matley Wood, Ipley cross roads, up to Colbury, along the A35 to Lyndhurst, twice. A limited field of 22 riders took to the start line in very benign overcast conditions. It was Ben Boardman and Primera rider Joseph Andrews who set the pace both equal on time at the first intermediate timing point at 8km. Nick Buck was a further 5 seconds back, with James Bannister and Stuart Peckham 42 and 45 seconds behind the leading pair respectively. One of the pre-race favourites, Sacha Ring had to abandon due to serious injuries sustained in a separate “cycling” activity. Disaster stuck Ben Boardman who was the leader on the road as his arm rest broke on the second lap. This opened the way for the pair of youngsters, Buck and Andrews to battle it out for the win. After the second intermediate timing point at 30 km, it was still neck and neck between the pair with the 5 second gap being maintained by Andrews. Peckham and Bannister started to fall back to over a minute off the leading two riders. It was Andrew greater endurance that was the deciding factor as he pulled out a further 25 seconds over Buck to claim and impressive victory by 30 seconds in 59:15. Both riders were only participants to record times under the hour. Stuart Peckham came in third in 1:00:36 ahead James Bannister in 1:01:30. Boardman was understandably disappointed that a technical failure had prevented a potential victory, but vowed that “I’ll be back!”.

1 Nick Buck 00:59:45 25.1
2 Stuart Peckham 01:00:36 24.8
3 James Bannister 01:01:30 24.4
4 Jack Sheppard 01:04:47 23.2
5 Tom Butler 01:04:56 23.1
6 Stewart Ward 01:05:12 23.0
7 Richard Mason 01:05:49 22.8
8 Bob Dowling 01:06:35 22.5
9 Hugh Roper 01:07:51 22.1
10 Richard Parker 01:11:19 21.0
11 Ollie Moody (Juv) 01:13:17 20.5
12 Peter Hawker 01:16:46 19.5
1 Joseph Andrews 00:59:11 25.3 Primera Sport
2 Paul Lockyer 01:02:49 23.9 DH Cycles
3 Paul Edmonds 01:04:35 23.2 Sot Tri Club
4 Paul Thomas 01:05:08 23.0 DH Cycles
5 Chris Jolliffe 01:06:48 22.5 Crawley Whs
6 Justin Priest 01:07:00 22.4 DHCycles
7 Aron Kelly 01:11:24 21.0 Sot Tri Club
8 Sonya Rushby 01:20:15 18.7 Sot Tri Club

No comments:

Post a Comment