Tuesday 1 April 2014

James Atherton Road Race, Start List

This is the inaugaral road race hosted by the University Cycling Club in memory of James Atherton. James was both a friend of many club members and was studying for his doctorate at the University when he was tragically killed whilst out training in January 2013. He was an inspiration to many and we hope through this race his name can be remembered. With entrant numbers more than doubling the spaces available on the day, the interest has been huge and we can only hope the event can grow even bigger next year to incorporate even more riders.

Start 11:00am 13/04/2014
Nick Abraham BC PM 2nd
Jed Webber Andover Whls 3rd
Jack Beezer Arbis - Colbert Cycles RT 2nd
James Bevan Army Cycling Union 2nd
Michael Cripps Army Cycling Union 2nd
Michael Cripps Banjo Cycles 2nd
Rob Yeatman BH-Solidor-WAM Youth 2nd
Oscar Hutchings Bikeshed - UEX 2nd
Paul Helyer Blazing Saddles Cycles 2nd
Steven Cottington Cadence RT 2nd
Adrian Lawson Cadence RT 2nd
Joshua Jones Cambridge University CC 2nd
Matthew Osborn Casp Racing 2nd
Mike Smith Cycleworks.co.uk 2nd
Dave Dalton Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club 2nd
Peter Day Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club 2nd
Brendan Drewett Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club 2nd
Henry Newbury Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club 2nd
Daniel Walker Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club 2nd
James Roe GVC Edmond De Rothschild 3rd
Nick Bonner I-Team Cyclists' Club 2nd
Luke Stace I-Team Cyclists' Club 2nd
Andrew Gough JMJ RT 3rd
James Mickelburgh London Dynamo 2nd
Andrew Bryson Peter Hansford Racing 2nd
Brook Elgie Peter Hansford Racing 2nd
Thomas Key Peter Hansford Racing 2nd
Andrew Carter Portsmouth North End CC 2nd
Tom Morris Portsmouth North End CC 2nd
Joe Barry Ride 24/7 2nd
William Griffiths Ride 24/7 3rd
Billy Osmond Ride 24/7 2nd
Charles Rees Ride 24/7 2nd
Michael Ward Ride 24/7 2nd
James Cooper Rock N Road Cycles 2nd
Daniel Stephens Rock N Road Cycles 2nd
Andy Edwards Sigma Sport.co.uk 2nd
Richard Stephens Sotonia CC
Charlie Leech Southampton University RC 3rd
Edmund Leeming Southampton University RC 3rd
Andrew Lockwood Southampton University RC 3rd
Chris Tomsett Southampton University RC 3rd
Stuart Bettis Southdowns Bikes Cycling Club 2nd
Joshua Gray Team Tor 2000 2nd
Graeme Lackford Team Tor 2000 2nd
Alex Tinsley Twickenham CC 2nd
Michael Lancaster VC Meudon 2nd
Craig Wilson VC Meudon 2nd
James Champken VC St Raphael 2nd
Rowan Horner VC St Raphael 2nd
Frank Kilsby VC St Raphael 2nd
Cameron Thompson VC St Raphael 2nd
Stuart Thompson VC St Raphael 2nd
Liam Walsh VC St Raphael 2nd
Thomas Marshall Velo Club Walcot 2nd
Richard Prebble Velosure - Giordana RT 2nd
Luke Nolan Westbury Wheelers 2nd
Matthew Exley www.twenty3c.co.uk 2nd
Glenn McMenamin www.twenty3c.co.uk 2nd
Patrick Martin WyndyMilla 2nd
The race HQ is located at Owslebury Parish Hall, Main Road, Owslebury, SO21 1JQ. The race roll out from the
HQ will be neutralised along Longwood Road toward the crossroad junction with Belmore Lane. At the junction turn right onto Belmore Lane where, once safe, the race will be de-neutralised. Immediately after the crest of the first hill the road drops away to the left followed by a sharp right hand bend where extreme care is needed. After a series of rolling hills the race turns left into Salt Lane to climb up to The Milburys Pub crossroads. Just before cresting the Salt Lane climb riders will cross the finish line for the first time (there will be a further 7 laps). At the crossroads the race turns left for a fast decent followed by a sharp climb to the Longwood Road junction, at the junction the race turns left and descends to the junction with Belmore Lane where the race will turn left to complete the circuit.

No comments:

Post a Comment