Sunday 10 June 2012

Local Riders,Local Races

Bob Jolliffe with his view from the New Forest…………
Title race a Shaw thing
BRAMSHAW’S unassailable Julia Shaw won her fourth consecutive national 25-mile time trial championship on Tees-side on Saturday in a rapid 54min 57sec.It was the fifth 25-mile women’s title for the www.Drag2Zero rider and follows her recent sixth consecutive championship victory over 10 miles.Ciara Horne of Brotherton Cycles took silver almost two minutes in arrears with 56-48 from Rebecca Slack (London Dynamo) with 57-14 for bronze.Another multiple national champion, Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp), fended off top opposition from Sky Pro Cycling’s Alex Dowsett to take gold in the men’s competition with a championship record time of 47-01, slicing 14 seconds off his own record set in 2005.Mind you, Dowsett was close, powering around in 47-08 for silver, while the bronze medal went to Shaw’s teammate Matthew Bottrill with 48-36.Poole-based High Wycombe CC member Adam Topham was best-placed southern rider with 51-03 for 13th place while Contre la Montre’s James Gilfillan was 31st with 52-24.
Heffernan hews minute from “personal”New Forest Cycling Club’s John Heffernan was overjoyed to hack 1min 2sec from his PB 10 in the wind-blown Team Axiom event between Liss and Liphook on Saturday.“It was hard coming back. It wasn’t just the headwind, but there was a hill I didn’t notice going out,” said John after clocking 21-48, which earned him 14th place in a quality field.Winner was Nicolas Hutchings (GS Grupetto) who got close to course record with his 30-mph-plus winning time of 19-14.VC St Raphael pair Simon Tout and Steve Walkling were second and third with 19-51 and 20-11, while their clubmate Martin Beale, a second-claim New Forest CC member was 22nd with 22-13.Other Team Axiom 10 times: Terry Icke (Poole Whrs) 20-56, Cliff Rowe (Bournemouth Jubilee Whrs) 22-10, Gary Tuskin (Poole Whrs) 22-45, Alan Sharpen (Sotonia CC) 25-53, Bob Jolliffe (New Forest CC) 27-53, Chris Summers (Sotonia) 28-00.Walkling moved up to head the result board in the following morning’s Team Axiom 25 with a quick 51-39 to beat Kingston Whrs’ Steve Irwin into second by 55 seconds. Third went to Contre la Montre’s Phil Mosley with 53-18.Others: Harry Bulstrode (Contre la Montre) 54-05, Andy Rivett (VC St Raphael) 54-19, Ray Claridge (GA Cycles) 55-28, Gary Allen (GA Cycles) 55-29, Darren Lewis (Poole Whrs) 55-53, Terry Belbin (Poole Whrs) 1-02-01, Chris Summers (Sotonia CC) 1-12-15.
Chris clocks second best 10! New Forest’s Chris Hughes was happy to finish a chilly Bournemouth Jubilee Whrs 10 at Upton on Sunday with a time of 24-13, his second-best-ever, while clubmate Bob Jolliffe slowed from the previous day to 29-45. Second claim NFCC member Martin Beale (VC St Raphael) finished with 23-16.Victory went to Poole Wheeler Gary Dighton with 21-12. He was followed by clubmate Andy Buddle (21-30) and Tom Alliban (Revo Racing) with 21-32.
Close to best! NFCC’s Stuart Peckham was near his best 25 time when he clocked 1-02-48 in a Poole Wheelers’ club event at Upton the previous weekend. First went to Andrew Matthews of Southdown Velo with 57-59 from Martin Aldridge of the promoting club with 1-00-30 and Bournemouth Jubilee’s Philip Evans (1-02-05).
Weather took toll! Rain led to the abandonment of New Forest CC 30 last Tuesday.
Another inter-club in offing! New Forest CC members are needed to represent their club in the second inter-club competition of the season: against Crabwood CC, which is promoting the first round, a 15-miler on the P164 at Lyndhurst on Thursday, June 31. Event HQ is Matley car park and the first rider will be away at 7.01pmThe return round, a 10 hosted by NFCC, is also on the P164 on Tuesday, July 10. HQ is Parc Pale and start time is 7.01pm.

No comments:

Post a Comment