Tuesday 17 April 2012

Local Riders,Local Races

Bob Jolliffe (NFCC) Reports......TEAM HONOURS went to the new Southampton-based Contre La Montre squad in Farnborough and Camberley CC's 25-mile time trial at Bentley on Saturday (APRIL 14).Clocking a rapid 50min 58sec ride, the team’s Ironman tri champ James Gilfillan took second place 18 seconds behind London Dynamo’s Richard Simmonds .Steve Whitewick took third with 52-05 and former British Best All-Rounder Julian Jenkinson was eighth with 54-30 to complete Contre La Montre's three-man team.Bramshaw’s multi-national champ Julia Shaw (Drag2Zero) was a further seven seconds in arrears and claimed the fastest women’s award. Other Bournemouth and Southampton area times: Gary Allan (GA Cycles) 55-26, Stuart Martingale (Sotonia CC) 56-39, ~Terry Icke (Poole Wlrs) 57-25, Dave Hanbury (Sotonia) 1-03-29, Dave England (Crabwood CC) 1-03-49, Alan Sharpen (Sotonia) 1-08-34,

Bob Jolliffe (New Forest CC) 1-14-03, Chris Summers (Sotonia) 1-14-37, Norman Harvey (Sotonia) 1-14-56.

At Ringwood, New Forest Cycling Club powerhouse Gary Lock took top honours in his club’s first evening 10-miler of the season finishing in 23-04 to beat GA Cycles’ visitor Simon Barnes into second place by 29 seconds.Returning from injury, the home club’s Ben Boardman showed a good improvement with 23-35 for third while fourth place went to Sotonia CC’s Gawain Young with 23-39, just one second faster than New Forest’s Colin Humm.Forest clubmate Tony Rendall followed up a cracking Good Friday ride at Upton with 24-50 for sixth, a single second faster than Stuart Peckham, who was four seconds quicker than Southampton Tri Club’s Mike Zollo in eighth.Conditions were chilly on the Sopley road but that did not stop a total of 31 riders competing.Others (NFCC unless stated): Phil Roker (Full-on Tri) 25-13, Stuart Ward 25-21, Rob Brinsden 26-06, Rob Ellis (VC St Raphael) 26-14, Chris Grant 26-24, Gary Plumb 26-30,

Richard Rajski and Tony Strickland (Bournemouth Arrow CC) both 26-36, Howard Doe and Keith Bradfield also tied with 26-41, Andrew Hanley 26-43, Richard Mason 26-47, Phil Underwood 26-49, Konnor Bracher-Walsh 27-13, Mike Ahearn 27-15, David Wilson 27-40, Dan Mitchell 28-02, Tom Stubbs (VC10) 28-07, Julian McCarthy (Southampton Tri Club) 28-14, Bob Jolliffe 30-05, Antony Moyle 30-11, Roger Bacon 31-10, Pete Hawker 31-26, Chris Mills 31-41.
Tony Strickland

No comments:

Post a Comment