Sunday 4 November 2018

Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 50 Mile Reliability Trial

Numbers were down for the Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 50 mile reliability trial on Sunday. Seventy signed on for the 2018 trial, way down on the near 200 of a couple of years back, the wet weather asking questions of reliability that many could not answer. Club stalwart Mark Freeman sent us this......

"There hasn’t been rain at the start of a Reliability Ride like today’s 50 since probably the infamous 75 mile back in 2014.
Numbers unsurprisingly down on last year’s colder and dryer 50 – however 70 weather-hardy riders signed on for the first of the Jubilee’s 2018/19 Reliability Ride series.The format of the rides hasn’t changed much in recent memory, but there was a new look to the ‘backroom’ staff. Our former cake makers and bakers Aimee and Matt are busy making a family. So we had club members old and new helping out with the sign on and the teas.Maybe it was the weather keeping people inside HQ, or something else? But the pre-ride atmosphere was spot on – with banter and chat flowing between members and guests.As for the ride – it was wet. Post ride – the cake just as legendary.70 riders signed on, 64 riders signed back in within the time limit.

Thanks to Reliability Organiser Kev Ridge.
Sign on volunteers Simon Green and Dave Harbord
Associate Member sign on volunteers Peter Warhurst and Mike Woodgate
Mike Walsh for handing out UK Cycling swag and photos on the course
Last but not least Bruce* and Maggie for serving the tea and cake.
See you all on the 9th December for the 100KM.

*Life member Bruce Cameron promoted the classic "Round the Harbour Time Trial" on behalf of the Jubilee for 27 years.

Drew Birrell
Darren Bonner
Mark Bowerman
Alan Brimecombe
Paul Canham
Raymond Claridge
Michael Courage
Victor Douglas
Neil Evans
Bob Ford
Mark Freeman
Simon Green
David Hammersley
David Harbord
Martin Hart
Ian Hayden
Keith Hemming
Mark Hitchcott
Michalina Hutna
Nick James
Andrew Khan
Rob Koppenhol
Mike Mackenzie
Maggie Maundrell
Luke Monahan
John O’Brien
Dave Pickering
Robert Piper
Tony Revell
Bob Richardson
Cliff Rowe
Phillip Scriven
Rupert Silman
Bob Smith
David Smith
Tim Smith
Tom Stocker
Daniel Thompson
Lyndon Thompson
Roland Tilley
Carol Tilley
Ian Turner
Michelle Walter
Richard Walter
Blair Ward
Toby Welstead
Peter Warner
Lee Norton
Jason Mallalieu
Kester Hewett
Gregg Meade
Mark Baynham
Andy Pratten
Tim Chetland
Aaron Lawes
Don Standhaft
Tony Derbyshire
Bob Bennetts
Luke Dowding
Graham Sharman
Chris Wilson

No comments:

Post a Comment