Sunday 26 October 2014

Nat Trophy CycloCross:Field First in Southampton

More Photos on our Facebook page
Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles) won round 2 of the National Trophy CycloCross series at Southampton Sports centre, maintaining his 100% record after victory at Shrewsbury in round 1. Even at this early stage it is hard to see who will, or can challenge Belgian-Based Field who looked simply a class apart.
Ben Sumner (Beeline Bicycles RT) led early on but by lap two, Field and Belgian visitor, Quinten Hermans of the Telenet Fidea Cycling team had established a small gap of 10 seconds over Hermans teammate, Jens Vandekinderen. For a couple of laps Vandekinderen threatened to join the two leaders but his solitary hard work came too nothing as Field and Hermans began to share the front.
Behind these three, Alex Paton (Pedal Heaven), Steve James & Jody Crawforth (Hargroves Cycles), Sumner, Jack Clarkson (Hope Factory Racing), & Tom Van Den Bosch (Hargroves-Ridley RT) were having their own battle. Crawforth may have given Field some problems but he spent the whole race chasing after tangling wheels and hitting the deck as the flag dropped.
Paton looked strong but it was James who managed to pull away in the dry conditions securing an impressive fourth place.
The final time through the woods, Hermans made his move but Field knows the venue well and the Belgian was going nowhere. Credit to Hermans, he was never intimidated by Field but had no answer when the British National Champion muscled his way up the inside, determined to lead into the final corner. “I know the first man into the final corner wins” he would say later.

1 Ian Field Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT 1. 2
2 Quinten Hermans Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0. 4
3 Jens Vandekinderen Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0. 47
4 Steven James Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT 1. 57
5 Alex Paton Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT 2. 15
6 Jody Crawforth Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT 2. 16
7 Tom Van Den Bosch Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT 2. 22
8 Steven Roach Ride Coventry 2. 30
9 Jack Clarkson Team Hope Factory Racing 2. 33
10 Nick Craig Pioneer Scott Syncros 3. 7
11 Ben Sumner Beeline Bicycles RT 3. 32
12 Nicholas Barnes RT/Kuota/GSG 3. 59
13 George Thompson Sleaford Wheelers CC 4. 0
14 Robert Jebb Hope Factory Racing 4. 6
15 Jack Ravenscroft Team Thomson Cycles 4. 23
16 Michael Butler Bowlphish Bontrager Racing 4. 26
17 Lewis Craven Wheelbase Altura MGD 4. 45
18 Matt MacDonald Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT 4. 51
19 Andrew Naylor Fossa Racing 4. 52
20 Dany Lacroix Colba Superhano-Ham 5. 4
21 Daniel Guest Performance Cycles 5. 19
22 Bart Versscheuren KDL Cycling Team 5. 27
23 Jack Humphreys Wheelbase Altura/MGD 5. 32
24 Bruce Dalton The Kinesis Morvelo Project 5. 40
25 Liam Earl Team Corridori 5. 48
26 Scott Chalmers Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT 6. 1
27 Dave Collins Hope Factory Racing 6. 49
28 Tim O’Regan Dunboyne CC (Ireland) 6. 56
29 Richard Mardle Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves RT 7. 22
30 Daniel Harris Stourbridge CC at 1 lap
31 Joseph Andrews Fareham Wheelers CC at 1 lap
32 Scot Easter Felt-Colbornes – Hargroves RT at 1 lap
33 Billy Harding Orange Monkey Pro Team at 1 lap
34 Cameron Toms University of Bristol CC at 1 lap
35 Benjamin Hall Bristol CX at 1 lap
36 Matthew Hargroves Hargroves Cycles – Ridley RT at 1 lap
37 Daniel Bell Ellmore Factory Racing at 1 lap
38 Sean Dunlea Neon-Velo Cycling Team at 1 lap
39 Paul Sheers Vicious Velo at 1 lap
40 James Thompson Langsett Cycles RT at 2 laps
41 Daniel Drake VC Deal at 2 laps
42 John Dodgin The Edge Cycleworks at 2 laps
43 James Bracey Pivot Boompods Racing at 3 laps
44 Alex Fanshawe Individual Member at 3 laps
45 Chris Atkins Specialized Racing at 3 laps
46 Matthew Downes Paul Milnes Cycles/Bradford Olympic RC at 3 laps
47 Chris McGovern Team Novo Nordisk (Development) at 3 laps

Adela Carter (Hope Factory Racing) attacked her breakaway companion, Merce Pacios Pujado (Beeline Bicycles) to win round 2 of the British Cycling National Trophy CycloCross series at Southampton. The pair had jumped away from a leading group of seven riders including the yellow jersey of series leader, Annie Simpson (Hope Factory Racing, at third distance. Simpson, still carrying the Rapha Supercross in her legs from the day before, would climb off before the finish. Diane Lee (Team Mulebar Girl), Hannah Payton (Kinesis Morvelo Project) Carter, & Annie Simpson (Hope Factory Racing),Junior, Amira Mellor (Paul Milnes RT), Sarah Murray (CX Magazine) and Pujado had quickly distanced the field before Carter & Pujado made their move. The final lap was a dress rehearsal for the Elite men’s race to come, with the leading pair trading blows all the way to the line. Well almost, Carter, like Field to come, pulled away at the death, a broad smile replacing the pain that had gone before! Mellor came late to take third from the tiring Lee.

1 Adela Carter Hope Factory Racing
2 Merce Pacios Pujado Beeline Bicycles RT 0. 6
3 Amira Mellor (J) Paul Milnes Cycles/Braford Olympic RC 0. 34
4 Diane Lee Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport 0. 56
5 Hannah Payton The Kinesis Morvelo Project 1. 3
6 Tamina Oliver Cotswold Veldrijden 1. 31
7 Sarah Murray 2. 16
8 Ruby Miller Hargrove Cycles – Ridley RT 2. 42
9 Verity Appleyard Brotherton Cycles 3. 15
10 Sarah Lomas (J) Nutcracker Racing 3. 17
11 Joanna Rycroft 3. 26
12 Abigail van Twisk (J) WXC World Racing 4. 13
13 Sophie Chastell (J) Welwyn Wheelers CC 4. 29
14 Emily Barnes Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport 4. 37
15 Claire Beaumont Vicious Velo 4. 46
16 Alice Miller Look Mum No Hands ! 4. 59
17 Charlotte Broughton (J) Team Corley Cycles 5. 46
18 Sarah Naylor Fossa Racing at 1 lap

1 Alfie Moses (Paul Milnes RT) 38-58
2 David Barnes (Sports Traider) at 35sec
3 Tom Seaman (Nutcracker Racing) at 1-06
4 Josh Waters (Sherwood Pines) at 1-15
5 Matthew Clements (Cyclelab) at 1-19
6 Chris Barnes (Zepnat RT) at 1-43
7 Matthew Worton (Pioneer-Scott) at 1-46
8 Marcus Burnett (Team Corley Cycles) at 1-47
9 Tim James (Bourne Wheelers) at 1-48
10 Ewan Grivell-Mellor (Mid-Shropshire Wh) at 1-49

No comments:

Post a Comment